Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 5:40 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

Thank you, the two year olds have not put you off.  Jo is lovely here both in answering the phone and giving John and cecily time to themselves.  I  liked the way she warned the twins to allow space and that John needed support as well.

Mr Sutherland was good reassuring Cecily about her weight and that she was not to blame.  Good advise to wait three months.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 5:40 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

Glad Con's twins have arrived safely.  I'm very pleased that Mr. Sutherland is so positive about future preganccies for Cecily and John - he was both down to earth and very reassuring.  I'm glad he only asked them to wait three months before trying again - in my time the advice was six months!   I do like Jo's restraint - we know she can be a champion "butt-er in" at times, but her treatment of John and Cecily, and her request to Kits and Bits show that she really understands what John and Cecily need.  I'm glad she reminded them that John, too, needs their support to allow him to grieve.  I forsee a quiet week for the two of them, under the twins' care. 

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 5:29 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

Good advice from Jo to Kits and Bits, it was John's baby as well as Cecily's and he needs as much consideration as she does. Hope they can settle down to a peaceful life for a while now. We haven't heard Wilmot's reaction yet, hope he won't be too hard on them!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2016 12:28 pm Title: Chapter 37 Strange Kind of Woman

I am so glad that Mandy came in. Cecily will remember her words when the sudden memory hurts and it will help to know that her feelings are valid, and her grief is real and not some selfish over dramatising.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2016 5:10 pm Title: Chapter 37 Strange Kind of Woman

I'm very glad to see the family rallying round, and that the on-duty nurse, Wendy, reminded John, Beth and Steve that they all need to take care of themselves in order to be able to best help Cecilia.  Good that Jo was able to get there so quickly, both for Cecilia and in due course for Con - I loved her "welcome" to Beth!  It may seem a little odd, but  it was a very good idea of Wendy's to send Mandy to talk to Cecilia. There are sure to be times both now and in the future when the latter feels that gaping hole left by "a note on her medical record" and which no-one else in her family will quite understand. (I don't think there's any history of miscarriage in the close family network, is there?) If she only remembers a quarter of what Mandy said, she will know that there are so many who have had similar experiences and truly understand.  

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2016 1:01 pm Title: Chapter 37 Strange Kind of Woman

Mandy was so unexpected, but what she said is true, The mother will always remember the baby who did not live and she needs to share her feelings with the father of the baby.  Cecily and John need to share their feelings and may need Wilmots help in the short term.  Pleased that Stephen and Beth are near and so helpful.  Jo should be able to help as well.

Cecily is going to find it hard to deal wiith Con's new babies. I am not surprised that Len did not know how to handle the news that Con was in Labour.

 

Ehjoy your visitors.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2016 9:50 am Title: Chapter 37 Strange Kind of Woman

(((Hugs))) to everyone, and well done Mandy.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15 Feb 2016 9:14 am Title: Chapter 37 Strange Kind of Woman

Really realistic feeling as always. Glad Mandy spoke to her and Jo is there too. Thanks for more. Enjoy visitors!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 11:42 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

Horrible nurse, glad the other nurse will be having words with her boss. Thanks for more, glad everyone is rallying round.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 7:46 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

Thank goodness for the motherly woman and her husband! And ditto for John's quick thinking and Reg and Jem's speedy response. I was a bit sad to see Len's initial response (I'm not sure she fully understands what Cecily has been through and maybe thinks she's a bit of an attention-seeker) but that all melted away when she realised just what had happened. Good to see Steve and Beth moving so quickly, and I too loved the comments about the family moaning about the lack of proper wedding! I hope between them they manage to provide support without overwhelming poor Cecily and John. ((((((((Cecily & John)))))))

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 3:16 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

I have to confess to being relieved that this was a miscarriage rather than the more serious situation I was visualising, but what a blow for Cecily, and John after all they have both gone through in the last few months.  I'm very glad she could be moved to a private room so expeditiously (definitely one of those times when it pays to have "friends in high places" and I'm pleased Reg didn't hesitate to call on them).  As for Nurse Poulter, I very much hope that the young first year on duty with her reports her behaviour.  I rather suspect that not only John, but the woman and her husband from the next bed, will also be reporting it.  I'm glad Stephen and Beth are already on their way to help. 

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 2:13 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

Good that Steve and Beth are going - to support John particularly as he won't be able to be with Cecily all the time. . Do hope there are no further complications and there's nothing to stop her having another baby later. This so sad - can't we fast-forward a few years to a happy future!

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 1:56 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

Good for the husband from the next bed. Glad he went to speak to the nurse and John. I suspect the nurse will be on her way out the door very shortly.  Love the way Steve & Beth immediately rally round & also Reg. 

Thanks Myth Tree. 

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 1:18 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

Nurse Poulter.... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr is all I have to say to her. Like that comment on Flixy screeching! and (((Cecily))) and (((John))).

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 12:45 pm Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

How very sad - and Nurse Poulter's attitude was not entirely unknown back in those days. I hope they let Cecily talk about her loss and she doesn't get the "Never mind, you'll soon have another!" routine.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2016 11:59 am Title: Chapter 36 There goes my everything

SRN is equal to Registered Nurse -Adult  now shown as RN (Adult)  SEN's  were lft in charge of wards but were not trained to be.  They were the practical nurses and the good ones were highly skilled.  

It was good to see the patients response to Staff Nurse Poulter, I expect the SEN's and the relatives comments will be taken into account by the Sister and hospital authorities.  Thank goodness Reg decided to phone Sir Jem.

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2016 7:40 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Oh no! Please don't let her lose the baby! That would be too awful.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2016 7:01 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Don't you like Cecily, Myth Tree? 

Please please please come back and tell us we're all wrong.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 6:22 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Gah!  Myth Tree!  What have you done???  Come back & make them all happy again, this instant!

Thanks, I think....



Author's Response:

No!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 4:40 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Ugh, had a feeling that might happen with her history and it being first conception. Devastating having started to believe in it and dream about it being real then not be happening.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 4:36 pm Title: Chapter 34 Another Day

Lol brilliant way to do it, well done Steve and Beth. Worried for cecily, hope it all works out ok in the end. Don't know how I missed this update! But yay I get two at once!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 3:05 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

I'm glad that John was pleased once he found out about the baby - I'm a little surprised he didn't include Wilmot in the list of people whose responses to the situation he feared!   I'm really concerned, though - this may be a "straightforward" miscarriage, which would be bad enough in itself, but I'm sensing a rather more serious situation, namely a ruptured ectopic pregnancy.  I just hope it isn't that; I'll be biting my nails until the next post, the day after tomorrow!

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 1:19 pm Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Noooooo! Do please let her and the baby be OK, and come bsck soon and tell us!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 11:11 am Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Help, is Cecily miscarrying?  They have been through so much, they do not need more problems and sorrow.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Feb 2016 11:11 am Title: Chapter 35 I'll be there

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! *starts mantra* It will be okay, it will be okay....



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.