Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2016 3:07 pm Title: Chapter 42 It's too late

Yes, the birth may have been quick and relatively easy, and I'm thrilled that the twins are clearly full term and well. Nice to see Con in action there, too.  However, I hope that the very cursory check that Nurse Poulter and that very inexperienced junior doctor have given Cecily - who should never have been sent to A&E in the first place, but been taken directly to either the Maternity or Obs/Gyny unit - doesn't mean that they have missed something important - knowing Cecily's "luck" I fear that they will have done!  I just hope the maternity home staff remain alert..  But please let Cecily enjoy at least a little time with her babies before any problems arise, surely she deserves that!!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2016 12:36 pm Title: Chapter 42 It's too late

So nurse Poulter is still causing problems.  I hope the doctors are availble when Cecily arrives at the Maternity hospital.  Cecily should not have been seen by A&E but sent start to the Maternity ward, she needed to be seen by an obs and gyne specialist not a junior house officer in A&E with no obs., experience.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2016 12:33 pm Title: Chapter 42 It's too late

Oh oh! Complications to come but at least the twins are a good weight!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Feb 2016 9:18 am Title: Chapter 42 It's too late

Ugh, am worried about her not being properly checked though! Glad both babies arrived, and hope things actually are ok, but want to shake Nurse Poulter!

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2016 4:48 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Um, I don't think there's going to be a last few weeks... love the 'shut up Beth' comment!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2016 4:48 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Hope things go ok if they are on the way early. Nice that they are all going to be together.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2016 4:28 pm Title: Chapter 40 Heaven must have sent you

Yay for twins!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2016 6:54 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Don't like the sound of the bump shifting down at this stage or the housework being done before breakfast - think we are in for early arrivals.............

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2016 4:09 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Oh, oh - backache, bump moved down?  Due date in September and this is already mid August? Twins? Somehow I doubt those plans for a peaceful week after today's family gathering will come to fruition!  It could well be a good thing there will be several doctors in the house today - so long as they don't all fall over each other in panic an with contradictory advice!  

I must say I loved Beth's reaction to the news of the pregnancy!   I'm also glad to see that Jem is having the chance to get away from everything - hopefully his blood pressure will come under control, especially now that he is being treated successfully for the pernicious anaemia. 

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2016 2:26 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Bump moving down, back aching - good thing they'll be surrounded by doctors! I hope Jem gets his blood pressure sorted out OK - the relaxing time away from work will be good for him, and for Madge.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2016 12:06 pm Title: Chapter 41 FOr all we know

Some how i suspect they are not going to have the quiet week they planned!  Thank you

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2016 2:55 pm Title: Chapter 40 Heaven must have sent you

Well of course, given the family history on both sides, it makes sense that Cecily would be expecting twins!!!  I'm not quite sure just where in "real" time this story is set, but I think that the use of ultrasound was still fairly new at the time, not surprised both she and John were puzzled by what was going on there.  Like others, I do hope that, given Cecily's small size and her previous problems, all will go well - I can understand John's concern there.

Thanks, Myth Tree - and thank you too, for explaining your reasons why Cecily and John chose to tell people she was pregnant at that comparatively early stage - it's a very good point. 

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2016 1:53 pm Title: Chapter 40 Heaven must have sent you

Twins! Good in theory, but do hope there are no problems. The hospital sounds really good and will take good care of her.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2016 11:58 am Title: Chapter 40 Heaven must have sent you

Like the detail of them being confused by the ultrasound. Am worried about Cecily having twins with her body history but glad the babies seem ok. Does make sense in a way with twins on both sides of family.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2016 10:50 am Title: Chapter 40 Heaven must have sent you

Thank you, should have expected they would have twins.  Well done on finding a Unit with such acring staff.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2016 7:55 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

I'm not at all sure about Wilmot. He seems too convinced that he is right but at least he realised that on this occasion he'd got it badly wrong with Cecily, and he does seem to have helped John. It was lovely to see Phil enjoying her visit, and John and Cecily's gradual recovery. Fingers crossed here too!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2016 8:35 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

Makes sense, glad Wilmot is realising he needs to take a different approach. Glad she is pregnant again, and hope this time things work out ok, though am waiting for post natal deprssion, with all her ups and downs and lack of confidence, could see that being a risk. *crosses fingers am wrong*

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2016 4:46 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

Interesting to see that Wilmot is at least partly prepared to eat humble pie over the way he handled -or mishandled - Cecily, I hope it makes a difference to the way he dealis with both her and John for the future.  But I rather liked his analysis of what had happened since Mrs. Jameson's death and how all the events were linked - I can actually see that if she had lived only a few weeks longer, John would have been ready to turn to Cecily for help instead of storming off and turning in on himself.  I'm also grateful for the few weeks of "normal" living which the couple has enjoyed recently. I just hope all goes well with this new pregancy, I'm sure we readers as well the family will be keeping their fingers crossed for a happy outcome - this time.  I must admit, though, while I can see their eagerness to tell everyone, given the previous circumstances I'd have been thought they might have waited until Cecily was fully 3 months pregnant before doing so. 



Author's Response:

Ok so this is where real life meets fiction unlike the rest of the drabble. We didn't tell anyone about child number two because we'd got fed up with the 'Haven't you had it yet statements' when expecting number one. When I lost it at twelve weeks all I got was 'I didn't know you were pregnant' and long discussions and explanations why instead of anything helpful like leaving me alone or offers of real help. Pregnancy number three was announced as soon as we knew because didn't want to go through that again if it went bad. Perhaps my characters have learnt from my experience. 

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2016 4:42 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

Hope it goes well *crosses fingers*

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2016 12:50 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

Pleased the rest of the year went smoothly.  Enjoyed the half term they gave Phil.  Their Christmas and New Year celebrations were good for them and Steve and Beth.  

Hope Wilmots prediction is correct although I am not sure that is good for Wilmots ego!

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2016 12:20 pm Title: Chapter 39 Till

Oh I hope it works out for them and that they have the joy of the baby without undue complications!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2016 5:29 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

So many good things here despite the sadness - Jo is brilliantl; I loved the David-and-Izzy scene; Mr Sutherland is great; and Jo's advice to Kits and Bits was spot on and perhaps even more powerful because she's Cecily's mother yet is emphasising John's needs as well. Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 11:14 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

Jo is an absolute star in this, there when she is needed, knowing when to keep out of the way and wise enough to give the twins sensible advice and guidance!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 10:18 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

Glad Jo is so like Jo here, pushing forward wgen it helps, but letting people heal their own way when it's right. Hope Kits and Bits listen, sounds like they will.

Reviewer: Minim Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2016 8:24 pm Title: Chapter 38 I am...I said

I like Jo. Here as much as everywhere else.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.