Reviews For A Rebellion
Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 7:49 pm Title: Chapter 50

It's not really surprising that Hilda and Nell are exhausted - it has been a very eventful few months for a lot of people, including themselves.  A shame Hilda feels she must stay close to school, but with everyone else away on trips, she and Nell can certainly spend time together.  I'm glad Rosalind has agreed to take on the post of Senior Mistress, and that it seems, in the end, that Ruth understands the rationale behind her dismissal and is prepared to make the best of things - I do hope she finds a new post fairly quickly.  As for Joey's attitude to Len, and by default towards Ted, I fear that she may never reach full understanding of the harm she has done, although surely, when Len persists in refusing to come home, even for a visit, the penny will drop?  

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 7:35 pm Title: Chapter 50

Thank you Hope ruth finds a new job soon and has learnt from her mistakes.  

Loved the eventful half term.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 7:23 pm Title: Chapter 49

What a terrible decision for Hilda and Nell to make but there was no real alternative.  Understandable that Kathie feels guilty and I hope Ruth does not make things hard for her before she leaves.  Rosalind is a good choice as Senior Mistress.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting :0)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 4:31 pm Title: Chapter 49

I can see why Nancy and Kathie are startled by Hilda's action over Ruth, and why Kathie has to overcome her feelings of guilt at what has happened.  it was a hard decision for Hilda, but the right one to make, especially that Ruth had forfeited Hilda and Nell's trust through her actions, as well as that of the two younger teachers. Good that Madge supports the decision so wholeheartedly too.  I think Rosalind will make a good Senior Mistress.

Also good to see Len and Ted enjoying their break - Len is right in her belief that Ted needs it almost more than she herself does. Love the game of tag on the beach!!



Author's Response:

The girls are just teenagers, sometimes life makes them forget that. Thank you for commenting :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 1:01 pm Title: Chapter 49

Pleased that every thing is sorted and that Rosalind get a promotion



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 12:58 pm Title: Chapter 48

Well that certainly came as a shock to Ruth, 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment:0)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 8:00 am Title: Chapter 49

Glad Kathy tried, Rosalind does sound like a better choice, can see their point, though it's not typical Hilda behaviour to not give another chance to show someone is sorry, I guess in some way this is the final issue of several really, otherwise she would have been chosen as Head anyway. I'm worried about a resentful person who might know about Kathy and Nancy's situation causing trouble for them, and for Hilda and Nell.

Author's Response:

Hilda does give second chances but I don't think Ruth had any way bck. Thank you for commenting,:0)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 7:54 am Title: Chapter 48

Wow, quite an difficult situation! Can understand though I guess as she also doesn't seem repentant. If I was Kathy I wouldn't be very happy about that, it could make things very difficult for her with other staff.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment ;0)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2015 3:06 am Title: Chapter 48

Wow - that's pretty drastic - I thought Hilda and Nell would remonstrate with Ruth for her behaviour towards Kathie, but I didn't expect Hilda to demand that she resign, and indeed to leave as soon as possible.  Wonder who will become the new Senior Mistress.

Thanks, Terry - we must be in the same time zone while you are in America!



Author's Response:

I am currently in Reno so maybe not that far away.

Seems strong I know but a trust has been broken,with no guarantee it will not happen again.

 

Thank you as always :0)

Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2015 10:09 pm Title: Chapter 1.

Thank youall the reviews. I now have computor access and willhopefully be posting soon.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 6:23 pm Title: Chapter 47

Jack and Ruth both need sorting out - separately! I hope Len and Ted enjoy themselves in Norfolk (I've always liked Ted and now I know she loves Norfolk I am even more of a fan!). It's good that Len is learning that it's OK to say "No" sometimes.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 5:30 pm Title: Chapter 47

Glad that Len has said no to mentoring others.   I'm sure Hilda and Nell will handle the problem with Ruth carefully though what she thinks she will achieve by trying to undermine Kathie I'm not sure.  Even if she succeeded it getting Kathie to turn down the headship, Hilda and Nell would not appoint Ruth.   Seems her jealousy is winning out over her common sense.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 2:48 pm Title: Chapter 47

Good to know that Len gained some satisfaction from being able to say "no" to the request that she become an official mentor.  I hope the girls enjoy their weekend away.

I don't blame Madge for being angry with Jack - he really has been wearing blinkers over Joey's behaviour, hasn't he?  

I'm glad that others saw Ruth's comments to Kathie for what they were and that Rosalind wasn't afraid to tell Hilda that both she and Peggy had noticed it - "independent witnesses" make it far easier for Hilda to confront Ruth. I'm sure she will now take action.

Thanks, Terry.  Enjoy your trip to America.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 1:40 pm Title: Chapter 47

What good friends Peggy and Rosalind are to Kathy and Nancy.  

Hope every one has a good weekend.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 8:48 am Title: Chapter 47

Glad others have seen it and disagree with it. Hope they can make Ruth see that this is exactly why she isn't suitable to be Head. Thanks.

Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2015 3:18 am Title: Chapter 1.

I am going to America and not sure when I can next post so just saying a quick thank you to all who take the time to write a review.:0)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2015 4:13 pm Title: Chapter 46

I'm so glad Ted took matters into her own hands and wrote to Kathie about the request for Len to become a mentor formally, and that the four elders were so united in advising against Len doing so.  That certainly gave Len the push she needed to say "no", which she needed to do, and not to heed her innate response to agree - she really is too fragile yet to be taking on others' troubles.  

As for Ruth - she is an excellent Second Mistress, but has certainly never done anything which would suggest she is good "head" material.  However, she is so far from realising this for herself that it seems almost natural for her to try to undermine Kathie's confidence with snide comments.  I'm glad that Nancy picked up on this so quickly, also that Hilda and Nell were already sensing it before having the younger two confirm their suspicions.  Heree's hoping they can indeed nip Ruth's behaviour in the bud before it escalates into something nastier.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2015 1:52 pm Title: Chapter 46

Ruth is showing by her action that she is not ready to be a Head yet.  

Pleased Len is going to say no.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2015 8:55 am Title: Chapter 46

Glad they are aware and being proactive, hope it doesn't turn into too serious a situation. In some ways Kathy will benefit from her confidence being tested and being able to come through the other side, but not nice while it's happening.

Author's Response:

I think its going to prove quite difficult for her even though she knows what is happening. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07 Sep 2015 5:55 am Title: Chapter 45

I like a lot of things about this story but I have to be honest and say that having just about everyone accepting Len and Ted's relationship seems too much twenty-first century rather than the late 1950s which is when the triplets would have been going to University. Jo's views would have been the norm back then rather than the exception and Madge and Mary-Lou's and everyone else's acceptance would have been the exception. Surely there must be some Chalet School people (especially some of the more religious ones), students or staff or Old Girls who will think Len and Ted's relationship foul or disorded or against God and won't change their minds like Mary-Lou did. It would make the story more realistic to the time in when it's supposed to be set. I hope you don't mind me saying this.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Sep 2015 7:05 pm Title: Chapter 45

Pleased Madge has found a nanny and Mary Lou is starting to question herself in an adult way.

Good of Ted to write to Kathy and seek help to persuade Len to say no.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Sep 2015 8:40 am Title: Chapter 44

It's a difficult one, as she'll probably get a lot from helping others but also needs to not feel she has to. Interesting seeing the changes at school. Thanks.

Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting :0)

Reviewer: Lynne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2015 7:39 pm Title: Chapter 44

Oh poor Len.  Just because she's naturally caring and helpful people are STILL trying to use her for others.  Poor kid, I hope Ted helps her to say no!



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting :0)

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2015 2:27 pm Title: Chapter 44

Don't think this is a good idea for Len! Helping with practical things like budgeting is fine, but she doesn't need to get involved in emotional problems , which would be very likely. Hope she has the strength of mind to say no!



Author's Response:

Thank you, I appreciate the comment :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2015 1:42 pm Title: Chapter 44

Len caring and helping others is obviously part of her own personality and not just other people pressuring her.  However I think to do it formally would be a mistake so soon, she needs more time to herself.  She will help anyway, but it will be easier to say not now if she is doing it informally.

Thanks for the updates.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment :0) I think at this stage you are right.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.