Reviews For A Rebellion
Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Sep 2015 8:38 pm Title: Chapter 59

I like Barbara's approach to Len's situation, stressing that talking this whole situation through thoroughly is a necessary step in her healing process. I'm glad she wants to meet with her twice a week for now - that way Len will be able to be through the worst of all this before term starts again.  I think the fact Len really does want to be free of all this so that she and Ted can enjoy their love, without Ted having to turn comforter is important - if she can keep that thought in mind, she will do better in these intense sessions with Barbara.  I'm glad Madge and Jem are continuing to be supportive.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Sep 2015 2:23 pm Title: Chapter 59

Len is going to find this very hard. Pleased madge and Jem are there for her and Ted.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Sep 2015 10:57 am Title: Chapter 58

I liked Nell's idea f asking different students in future years. 

Jem's response to Jack is masterly.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Sep 2015 2:40 am Title: Chapter 58

I hope Jack can manage to leave Len alone, at least for now, before he alienates her as completely as Joey has done - I don't blame Jack at all for his strong words about the situation.  The two girls certainly gave good, practical presentations about life away from the Chalet School; I'm very glad to see both Hilda and Nell planning to continue such talks annually, even after Len and Ted have graduated and aren't available to give them.  I will be very interested to see how well the girls will respond to Barbara Wells - I do hope she can help them both.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for all your reviews.

Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Sep 2015 12:42 am Title: Chapter 1.

Once again thank you for all the reviews, I read every one. Still on holiday but returning to the UK next week so normal service will be resumed.

Reviewer: shirley Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2015 11:29 pm Title: Chapter 1.

really enjoying this story. not sure if e.b.d. would approve. did she know anything about same sex relationships ?. all her stories skirt around the issue,although we have frequent references to "cubicle off limits" and and" silliness and sloppy behaviour" being a no no. certainly at my posh boarding school 50 years ago, so called "crushes"were part of school life, and staff looked the other way.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2015 3:44 pm Title: Chapter 57

Jack had about as much tact as a sledge-hammer there, trying to invoke Len's "minority" status in an attempt to force her to tell him what Jem was planning for her - thank goodness Len held firm to her resolve and Kathie intervened.  But I'm glad the girls' first "educational" session went down so well; I'm sure Hilda will fully approve of their approach when she sits in on their next one.  

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2015 2:10 pm Title: Chapter 57

Well done Len for being firm with Jack, glad Kathie was there to assist- thanks Terry :-)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2015 10:48 am Title: Chapter 57

Glad Kathy intervened there.  I think Jack is being heavy handed and going the right way to loss Len as Joey already has.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2015 11:27 pm Title: Chapter 56

Well done Len, I hope Jem can get the woman he wants.  Thank you.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2015 7:58 pm Title: Chapter 56

Thank goodness Len and Ted do have good trustworthy friends as well as Jem and Madge to care about them. Jack is as much use as a hole in the head!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2015 7:25 pm Title: Chapter 56

Jem has struck just exactly the right note to appeal to Len, and also to Ted.  I agree that they both need more professional help than he himself is qualified to give - I hope that the person he wants is available and that she can help both girls.  A very good idea for them to stay with Madge and Jem while the first talking is going on - I think it's a little while yet before the next term starts, so much better that they have someone older on the spot to help, rather than the two girls being alone.  Not so surprising that Len doesn't mind Matey and the others knowing what has been decided, but doesn't want her father to know - he will have some way to go before he can earn her trust back - if he ever does.

 

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2015 4:21 pm Title: Chapter 55

Good that Matey is making it clear she thinks both girls need some help to come to terms with things - I agree that Ted, too, needs this.  At the same time it makes it easier for Len to agree to talk to Jem, knowing that she isn't the only one singled out as needing help (hope that makes sense!)  Since there's no guarantee at all that Jack would make sure he prevented Joey seeing the girls, taking them right out of the area for the day was a very, very good idea.  I agree with Pauline that the last paragraph speaks volumes - I hope that Len can accept the reassurance being offered her. It will be interesting to discover whether Jem feels she and Ted need more professional help than he himself can offer. 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2015 12:22 pm Title: Chapter 55

Nancy's last paragraph says it all.  Good that they had a day out with friends on the Thursday.

Pleased Jem and Madge are challenging Jack's responses to Joey and Len.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Sep 2015 1:03 pm Title: Chapter 54

Matey is right Len needs specialist help, and so to a lesser extent does Ted.  Good to know that Len and Ted are now surrounded by poeple who care for them and will protect them.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Sep 2015 3:55 am Title: Chapter 54

I really like Matey's sympathetic response to Len here, especially her "yes, you co, that's the past talking" response to Len's comment that she doesn't deserve all this help.  I hope that Madge and Jem will indeed come over shortly and that Jem will be able to arrange for professional help for Len.  As for Jack arranging for Joey to try a day at home, knowing full well (I think) that Len and TEd are on the Platz - if we needed any further proof that he really can't think beyond Joey's needs, despite all his claims that he wants to help Len and Ted too, we certainly have it there.

Thanks, Terry.

 

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2015 11:54 pm Title: Chapter 53

Courageous of Len to try going into the house but too soon even after a year.  Glad Matey is there to help her and Ted.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2015 5:06 pm Title: Chapter 53

I can see that Len did have to try that, but not at all surprised that she couldn't actually face going into the house, even with Joey absent.  Matey's trenchant common-sense attitude clearly helped, but I think she, and possibly the others, suspect that Len may need some professional help to come to terms with the way Joey treated her for all that time.  Meantime, I hope that Ted's comfort, and later, the diversion of these talks to the older girls will both help her. 



Author's Response:

I think Matron agrees with you. Thank you for the comment "0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2015 12:39 pm Title: Chapter 53

Good Old Matey indeed.  Her brisk common sense is just what is needed.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting .

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2015 8:04 am Title: Chapter 53

Thanks for more, and glad everyone is looking out for her.

Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting :0)

Reviewer: Terry Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2015 4:37 am Title: Chapter 1.

Thanks all for the reviews and comments,time is a bit limited whilst on holiday.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Sep 2015 5:54 pm Title: Chapter 52

' "Hindsight s wonderful, and we did let Len down, all three down, but Joey came across as the perfect, jolly,matey mother, always having time to play etc."Hilda put in.'

Just what Joey was not.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Sep 2015 10:44 am Title: Chapter 51

Thank you.  Pleased Madge could reassure Kathy

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Sep 2015 8:09 am Title: Chapter 51

I'm glad Len is able to be supportive to Ted, it is hard for her, as Joey had in the past been a bit of an extra parent to Ted too, so she has a double loss - one for Len and one for herself.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2015 10:55 pm Title: Chapter 50

I'm glad Ruth is taking it in a level way and moving on. Lol for mad chalet school type half term incidents.

Author's Response:

Couldn't resist lol...



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.