Reviews For A Rebellion
Reviewer: Joanne Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Aug 2015 4:32 am Title: Chapter 24

Lovely to be able to read more of this! I think the move to University is a big step for most people, even now (goodness knows how my 17 year old son is going to cope next year!) but the CS girls probably did have it harder than most.



Author's Response:

From the cloistered CS to a big university must be quite daunting even for simple things like what clothes to wear.

Thank you for liking this :0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Aug 2015 10:39 pm Title: Chapter 24

Thanks Terry, I'm really enjoying this- agree with PaulineS that students should leave school with basic cooking and budgeting skills 

Len and Ted would be perfect to teach CS girls about the world away from the Platz, it's a shame that they can't go there at present, glad Madge came to see them and to help Len understand that Joeys illness is not their fault- looking forward to more :-)



Author's Response:

I think that perhaps at some point in the future CS will arrange the needed lessons, I think its a must really.

Thank you for the comment :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Aug 2015 10:15 pm Title: Chapter 24

I think all schools should teach practical cooking and budgeting to both male and female students. In fact it is one of my hobby horses.  I also think personal safety is good idea.

Thanks for the update



Author's Response:

I'm glad that idea worked, it just came to me that so many students are unprepared to go to college, and the triplets, from such a sheltered school would be even less prepared than most.

 

Thank you for commenting.:0)

Reviewer: Seven Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Aug 2015 11:50 pm Title: Chapter 22

Great update.  I hope Madge and Jem can help Joey.  I think Hilda and Nell need to tell about about themselves but she might already have guessed, especially given recent happenings.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for commenting, it feels that Madge is pretty understanding, just a little distracted right now.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Aug 2015 11:15 pm Title: Chapter 22

Good that Madge is thinking that far ahead. Thanks for more, I hope someone can help. I'd bet Madge will already have suspected, but even if she doesn't it'll be interesting to see her reaction.

Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting:)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Aug 2015 12:17 pm Title: Chapter 21

Thank you for the update.  Loved their discussion about names.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I wonder what name they will think of for Ted, not sure she is keen on Teddy even if Len is :0)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Aug 2015 11:23 am Title: Chapter 21

Glad they are being a bit more careful. Lol for Teddy :-D

Author's Response:

I think they needed to be :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Aug 2015 11:34 pm Title: Chapter 20

interesting that both their names are more commonly used for men, and both were Joey's choice!  

I am pleased Joy was accepting and hope Ann will be as well.  If they want to be careful they can always say "Housemate" which I think would have been a more common word than partner at the time.  It was certainlly used into the sixties and seventies if people did not want everyone to know, they could then let friends who they thought would be accepting when they knew them well.  (When I was young living away from home for the first time))

Thnks for the update.



Author's Response:

I think partner is incorrect for the time, that is my fault, because its how I think of my own partner , I'll have to get them out of that one. Thank you for the comment and the help. Interesting you mention the names because later on both girls do.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02 Aug 2015 10:06 pm Title: Chapter 20

Very true that it's easy to accidentally out yourself but think they do need to be careful. After all this is still the late 50s/early 60s, and male homosexuality is still illegal. Even in the 80s and 90s it would have been risky to be too open. "Friend" is a good term for them to use, as it lets people assume what they want without outright saying they are together. :-)

Author's Response:

Yes, you are right, but when you are young its not always easy to make the right decisions. They have the others examples of having to hide to follow, perhaps they need to talk to them.

 

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2015 8:37 pm Title: Chapter 19

Glad Len managed on her first day even if she felt she didnt and Len is right to insist that Ted's first day mattered just as much.  Like the sound of Len's haircut - never underestimate the importance of hair for confidence!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2015 9:17 pm Title: Chapter 19

Len really needs support here.  Good job she has Ted and is not having to support Con as well as herself. Like the idea of the new hairstyle.

Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2015 8:43 pm Title: Chapter 19

Bless, they are good together. I'm glad Len is making sure Ted shares her day too. Thanks :-)

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2015 3:56 pm Title: Chapter 17

Poor Joey, she really has got stuck in a timewarp somewhere. I'm so glad Madge is on the spot and will help Len if necessary. I wonder what Jem will say.



Author's Response:

Sometimes the past is easier to deal with, hopefully she will accept help. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2015 11:25 pm Title: Chapter 17

It does make sense that Joey might not be herself if very depressed, and I hope that Madge and Jem really can help rather than ending up with everyone rejecting her. Thanks.

Author's Response:

To be honest I don't like Joey but couldn't just make her bigotted, although I tried. Thanks for the comment. :0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2015 9:33 pm Title: Chapter 17

Jem and Jack together may be able to help.

Thanks for the update.



Author's Response:

Thank you for continuing to comment.:0)

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2015 12:08 am Title: Chapter 16

Well done, Madge! Joey just can't see why her attitude is so wrong. Even if she couldn't accept her daughter's sexuality how could she say Len was nothing special?

Author's Response:

I confess this chapters are based a little on real life, mine, and I was considered as nothing special...Hopefully Joey will see the light.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2015 10:38 pm Title: Chapter 16

Poor Madge must have felt she was banging her head on a brick wall there; even though she's clearly beginning to wonder whether Hilda is right and Joey is indeed, ill, that only partially dilutes her anger at Joey's disowning of Len.  I'm glad Jack is so honest with her, and also that Madge will, if needed, act as mother to both Len and Ted. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting.The characters aren't quite doing when I thought they might, but they seem to be coping......

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2015 10:05 pm Title: Chapter 16

Thank goodness Madge is stepping in to mother Len and Ted.  i hope that she can make a difference.

I hope that someone can help Joey, she really needs to have care.

Thanks for the update.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting. I confess this isn't the way I first wrote it, its kind of evolved.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2015 10:01 pm Title: Chapter 16

Glad Madge is helping, it's interesting that she feels Joey isn't quite right, it might explain her over dependance on Len and the school if she isn't coping herself.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment, sorry not to reply sooner, I appreciate your support.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2015 4:14 am Title: Chapter 15

Really like the thorough way your characters have thought this through.  Hope Madge can ger through to Joey



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2015 12:02 am Title: Chapter 15

That's interesting - I think it's possible that Joey has become so obsessed with the School that it is an illness!

Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jul 2015 12:00 am Title: Chapter 15

I think Madge is going to find it hard going trying to bring Joey into the correct era.  Hope Jem can come up with some suggestions to assess if Joey is depressed.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting, hopefully Joey will accept help if needed.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2015 11:44 pm Title: Chapter 15

The fact that Joey really seems not to understand that Hilda and Nell *do* mean that that she will no longer be welcome there except by special appointment, is, I suppose, to have been expected.  I'm very glad firstly, that Madge approved the idea to start with and secondly that she will now attempt to convince Joey in person that yes, this is to be the way things are to be from now on.  I also like the fact that if Jack is comfortable with the situation between Len and Ted, then Madge won't intervene there, however much Joey might want her to do so.  Madge's comment about Jo being "stuck in an earlier era" is very perspicacious, as is Hilda's suggestion that perhaps Jo is clinically depressed and no-one has realised that.

Thanks Terry, it will be interesting to see where this goes from here, both for Jo, and for Len and Ted.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your interesting comments and for liking this.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2015 4:44 am Title: Chapter 14

Thanks am really enjoying this, though for some reason I thought the triplets were heading off to uni. Hope Nell and Hilda can talk to Joey about not coming to the school



Author's Response:

Sorry If I have confused you. I've packed Len and co off but I've returned to the start of the same summer holidays to deal with (hopefully) the issues with Joey. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jul 2015 12:32 am Title: Chapter 14

Pleased Madge is going to back Hilda and Nell.  Thanks.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting :0)



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.