Reviews For A Rebellion
Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Sep 2015 3:49 pm Title: Chapter 43

Somehow I missed yesterday's update, so two chapters to read this morning.  Joey really is obsessed with her need for Len to return home, give up contact with Ted, so that things can return to "normal" in the Maynard household.  I know full well it's the illness talking, but her attitude doesn't make it any easier for those who are trying to treat her - and to care for Len's needs at the same time.  Unfortunately Jack isn't helping by acting as his wife's "enabler" and completely failing to consider Len's needs here.  His action in posting that letter from Joey to Len certainly seems to have been the last straw for Jem, although I'm not sure he has managed to get through to either Joey or Jack, despite his very plain speaking.  Thank goodness Bride was able to intercept that letter before it reached the girls, and that Madge and Jem are prepared to continue helping them in whatever ways they can do.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting. Its a very difficult time all round, and Jack appears to be siding with Joey, he does love her but maybe tough love is needed.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Sep 2015 11:35 am Title: Chapter 43

Am really enjoying this and caught up with a whole heap of updates.  Jem and Madge are being wonderful and gave really stepped up to the plate whereas Jacks being a wet dish rag about handling everything. Thanks can't wait to see what happens next



Author's Response:

Thank you for catching up and enjoying it :0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2015 8:40 pm Title: Chapter 42

Really enjoying this, thanks Terry, and agree with Hilda's musings at the start 'many good things to have come out of the bad' :-)

Feeling sorry for Jack, torn between wife and daughter and not seeming able to accept that Len will never come home- glad Madge and Jem are able to be supportive and to be firm with Joey to stop her manipulative ways!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comment :0)

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2015 12:02 pm Title: Chapter 42

Madge was very perceptive here, to spot that Jack too has not really accepted that Len will never call Freudesheim home again. He seems to be ducking the issues too, to some extent, only not so violently and aggressively as Joey. I don't think he has yet managed to see Len as an individual, with as much right to consideration as her mother.



Author's Response:

Jack certainly seems to have issues right now. Thanks for commenting.:0)

Reviewer: Jenny Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02 Sep 2015 9:21 pm Title: Chapter 41

Loving this. It has so many strands and you are pulling them all together beautifully. Thank you for a good read!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading and enjoying it.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Aug 2015 5:49 pm Title: Chapter 39

It really is good to see Madge revitalised in this way rather than simply being "that very nice woman, Lady Russell" as Joye herself described her in "Changes"; it's just a pity that it's taken several events, including a couple of near-tragedies, to spark that revitalisation.  Good that Joey is now in hospital, Len and Ted safely back in England.  Also good that Mary-Lou is willing to look after the younger Maynards for the time being.  I did like the honesty with which Madge discussed M-L's concerns - and that the latter is honest enough to admit that she might have been wrong, also to realise that perhaps Joey was also wrong in some of her beliefs.  More power to Madge for blaming so much of that on Joey's illness rather than "bad-mouthing" her to Mary Lou. 

Thanks, Terry.

 



Author's Response:

Madge is certainly no longer that nice woman but an incisive business woman and leader, also is proving yto be a good friend to many. I'm sure this will continue. Thank you for the comment :0)

 

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Aug 2015 12:48 pm Title: Chapter 39

“Another thing to do.” She said happily to herself. She admitted that one of the good things that had happened was the change in herself.

It's great seeing the early Madge coming back!



Author's Response:

She is certainly revitalised by the whole thing :0)

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Aug 2015 12:39 pm Title: Chapter 39

Nice to see Madge finding her old vigour and energy, some good coming out of a bad situation.  



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment, Madge has certainly changed.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2015 9:33 pm Title: Chapter 1.

I'm glad that Jem and Madage are firmly on Len's side and are very upset that Joey is still trying to  manipulate Len and Jack.  Hopefully some treatment will help Joey understand what she has been doing.

lovely that Kathie saw Ted's anger and got Nell to help her with Ted.  Love Nell's sneaky kiss of Hilda!



Author's Response:

Len is guilty of not always seeing Teds struggle, she knows that but gets a bit wrapped up in her own pain. Its good that the older couples are all there for them. Thank you for commenting.:0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Aug 2015 9:35 pm Title: Chapter 37

Thanks Terry, glad that Madge can see what Joey is doing and that she isn't afraid to tell Jack what she thinks about his behaviour in asking Len to help Joey when Len was still in pain and shock. Nell and Kathie did well to get Ted to unburden herself and to also make her realise that she is just as important to them as Len is, Ted needed to know that

Like the fact that Len now essentially has adopted older sisters, people who care and look after her rather than Len having to look after everyone else, really enjoying this :-)



Author's Response:

Thats a good point re elder sisters for the two girls, certainly the elder couples do watch out for them and care. Thanks for the comment.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Aug 2015 5:20 pm Title: Chapter 37

You would think that having been married to a psychiatrist for 50 years, I would know how to spell the word, wouldn't you?  I only noticed my typo in my last post after I'd posted it - blushes!!

I'm glad that Madge openly tells the others how much she disagreed with Len being forced to see Joey earlier - I agree with them that it felt like blackmail, or at best, manipulation on Joey's part.  I'm very glad, too, that Kathie and Nell gave Ted that chance to unburden herself. She certainly needed to vent and and to receive the reassurances that they gave her, as well as to understand that they are all just as concerned for her as she and they are for Len. I hope she will remember that and not be afraid to write to them if things get tougher again.

Thanks, Terry.



Author's Response:

Len does care very much for Ted but sometimes cannot see Ted's issues whilst trying to deal with her own. The elder couples are very supportive of the two younger girls.

Jack needs to be careful that Joey does not demand more of Len.

 

Thank you for the review :0)

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Aug 2015 1:19 pm Title: Chapter 37

Ted needed that and thank goodness she has good mature friends to help her. And, btw, I agree with Madge about Jack being a big wet dreep and hugely unfair to his daughter. If he had been able to see past his beloved Joey sooner all this misery might have been avoided!

Author's Response:

I love your sayings shesings, and I understand them. Jack has been unfair, still is to Len, Joey is his wife, he loves her and puts her first, but that is not always the right thing to do.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Aug 2015 12:44 am Title: Chapter 36

Good stuff, Madge getting right to the point as usual, and Mary Lou indulging in a bit of much needed introspection!

Author's Response:

Thank you. Madge is certainly proving her worth in this.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2015 9:33 pm Title: Chapter 36

Hmm, despite my comments earlier, I did wonder just how far Len would be able to extend an olive branch, at least so soon.  I do admire her for the way she "said what she needed to hear", but later admits to Ted and the others that she only forgave Joey for assaulting her; no hint of forgiveness for her attitude towards Ted and herself.  Here's hoping that Joey will indeed now accept help, but I'm sure she'll give any psychiatiatrist a hard time - she's very unlikely to be a co-operative patient, especially since she will deny emphatically that she is in the wrong!!   I also admire Madge for the gentle, but inexorable way in which she remonstrates with Jack for forcing Len to visit Joey in the first place.  

Thanks, Terry, I will be looking forward to further developments.  



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comments, I appreciate them. Although Joey has said she will get help, as you say, how will she take it? Madge is seeing the full picture and is able to see Joeys faults which is not always easy. Jack it stuck in the middle.

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2015 4:03 pm Title: Chapter 35

Awww hugs to everyone, so glad that Madge and the others could see that Len was not being totally honest and isn't able to forgive yet... Len will need to talk through her feelings before she can come to terms with what has happened, Ted also needs to vent as she is holding on to a lot of anger on Lens behalf 

Thanks Terry, another great chapter, looking forward to the next :-)



Author's Response:

I agree re Ted

 

Thanks for the comment :0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2015 3:58 pm Title: Chapter 34

Thanks Terry, this is a defining moment for Joey, if she doesn't accept help now then I don't think she ever will :-(

Glad that everyone is being so supportive to Len, Ted and to Jack as well, he would have been so torn between Joey and Len- it's very difficult for them all!



Author's Response:

Thank you :0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2015 3:52 pm Title: Chapter 33

Oh my goodness, this starts out so gently with Ted being very understanding and giving Jack some time alone with Len and ends with Len on the floor with a slapped face and hurt wrist- what a roller coaster!

At least Mary-Lou will hopefully now see that Joey needs help and that she is not well, hope Nell can help Len and Ted understand that the attack wasn't personal and that Joey didn't know what she was doing - a difficult time for all

Thanks Terry



Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment :0)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2015 11:16 pm Title: Chapter 34

I must say I think it's very fortunate that Joey's assault of Len didn't take place in front of any other witnesses.   At least if Joey even half realises the enormity of what she did, it may be possible to convince her, finally, that she needs help, and Madge is probably the one best able to do this; I think Mary Lou could be a big help too, now that her eyes have been opened.  I know it's hardest on Len and Ted, but I'm glad that Ted is gradually calming down and recognising the situation results from Joey's illness - however bewildered Len may be, I imagine that she herself will be more ready to find a way of holding out the proverbial olive branch in due course.  I'm glad the girls will have the support of Nancy and Kathie, and that Hilda and Nell will do their best to help Jack, recognizing how torn he must feel.

Thank you, Terry - I may not manage to comment every time, but I do read each chapter as you post it.



Author's Response:

Right now I'm not sure about that olive branch, Len has a lot to forgive, and although she wants her mother to get help, she may not find forgiveness easy.

I always appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2015 11:53 am Title: Chapter 33

Oh my goodness me! There I was happily thinking how good it was of Ted to let Jack and Len have some time on their own to discuss things, and how supportive she was in organising Nell and Hilda to come over to talk - and then in barges Joey! It sounds though as if Mary-Lou may have had her eyes opened - if not to approval of Len and Ted then at least to respect for their behaviour and shock at Joey's. She and Hilda together might well be able to coax her into seeing how appalling she has been.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting:0)

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2015 11:18 pm Title: Chapter 33

Not good, but maybe end result will be if it forces Joey to see how wrong she is. I think Mary-Lou already sees Joey's problems so hopefully she can add her persuasions to Jack's and get Joey into some treatment.  



Author's Response:

Hopefully they will persaude her, thank you for the comment.:0)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2015 11:04 pm Title: Chapter 33

Poor Len that was all she needed.  I think though it might be the break through needed to get Joey treatment.  Hopefully it has openned Mary Lou's eyes as well to the actual problems rather than just Joey's version of events.

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the comment. I feel this could be an important moment. hopefully a turning point.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Aug 2015 6:29 pm Title: Chapter 32

Lovely update and good  that Hilda and Nell want Len and Ted to do the  talks and practical cooking.   Good that Jack got to see Len and he is pleased that things are working out for her.  I hope Joey gives  in soon and gets help before everyone she loves have had enough of her  behaviour.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting , hopefully Jack and Len will see more of each other.:0)

Reviewer: Daydreamer Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Aug 2015 12:30 pm Title: Chapter 32

Thanks Terry, lovely that Jack has managed to spend some time with Len and Ted and that he has had chance to relax away from Joey for a while- all carers need space from time to time and I think Jack is having to become a carer to Joey 

Glad that Nell and Hilda have agreed to Len and Teds talks, it's probably not just first years that Len and Ted are helping at Uni but those who are moving out of Halls into rented accommodation as well, budgeting is a skill many students need to learn quickly!!

 

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Aug 2015 11:03 am Title: Chapter 32

Thank you for lettings us know about Len and Ted proposals for preparing students.  

Many students lived in Halls or colleges where all the students had all meals provided and most of their laundry was done for them.  All I did was make a cup of coffee or tea whilst living in a residence during my first years away from home.  One tutor i knew had not cooked or cleaned for herself or her life and had to be taught how to on retirement,

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2015 7:01 pm Title: Chapter 31

The sad thing is Joey does want Len, but she wants her on her own terms as the unquestioning, every helpful child/nurserymaid/general dogs body and  that is not who Len is now.  Joey would welcome the old Len back ant time, but cannot accept the new Len at all. 

Len is questioning why her mother can only love the old Len and not accept the new Len as her daughter.



Author's Response:

interesting point, and yes I'm sure Joey would accept the old Len, but Len now has Ted in her life and will never return to the old version.i think at some point len will need help to understand this issue.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.