Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2015 10:00 am Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

Loving this, including the carousel interlude. Sorry I don't always have time to comment.

Am I the only one who now has a sneaking suspicion that Sinclair may not be who he appears to be?

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, Cal. You'll have to keep watching Hilda to find an answer to your question, though.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2015 12:13 am Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

Wow, what an amazing place. Sinclair is having a wonderful afternoon - however much Ian briefed him, he must be a bit gobsmacked by the two of them, love his reaction! I am enjoying this, Mary, though I don't always have time to post a comment, and it's nice to see this prequel to New Dream, I must have missed it first time round 



Author's Response: Oh, he had an even more wonderful time in Chapter 30!! *grins* Not sure he knows what to do with them - and I di wonder sometimes how I got to write them like this. But, oh, it was fun!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2015 11:17 pm Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

Mary two chapters to read after a weekend away from the internet,  Such a pleasure.  Your comment about 2006 had me searching CBB and I find that that is when I found the board, and this was one of the first drabbles I read.  I suspect I came in part way through and had to go back to the beginning at some point which is why I remember Sinclair better than the French visit.

It was a joy to read about the two boys and Nells comments that Hilda was a fairy Princess.

I am now looking forward to meeting Sinclair and his boss again in ND.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2015 11:07 pm Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

A brilliant description of paradise, I'd say, Mary!!  This is beginning to come back to me now, and I'm very much looking forward to what comes next!!

Thank you. - Did Ray manage to find your missing tool-bar?  I hope so.



Author's Response: Yep, Ray found it, Elder. Thanks for this review.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2015 4:07 pm Title: Chapter 28 - A Princess and Her Stooge

Sinclair seems to be a very unusual chauffeur??!!

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 7:47 pm Title: Chapter 28 - A Princess and Her Stooge

lovely,  that's all. Just lovely!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 7:27 pm Title: Chapter 28 - A Princess and Her Stooge

What a wonderful treat for Herr Dreisler and the two little boys. Something they will long remember. I loooved the carousel. That's definitely my idea of a great treat it is no wonder that the little ones believed Nell's assertion that Hilda is a fairy. Old fashioned carousels always seem to have escaped from the pages of a fairy story. Very magical! Huge ice creams to round things off nicely. What more could two little boys wish for on a sunny afternoon?
Thank you for another lovely slice, Mary. I'm so pleased that Chalet Girl helped you find a way to post for us and hope SLOC can retrieve your toolbar!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 6:51 pm Title: Chapter 28 - A Princess and Her Stooge

That is so lovely - not simply the enjoyment of riding in that wonderful car, but Hilda's spontaneous generosity in inviting Herr Dreisler and the two boys to join them, to say nothing of the carousel ride for them all and the ice creams for the boys.  That must truly have been a magical experience for them; no wonder they believed Nell's assertion that Hilda was a fairy princess for the day!!  And I did like Mr. Sinclair's comment that his own children would have loved "such an unexpected and whimsical treat" when they were younger, too.  

This is truly turning into a day to remember isn't it, despite Hilda's "Machiavellian japes" of earlier.  Definitely leaving me with a "warm and fuzzy" feeling, in sharp contrast to the snow coming down outside my window here.

Thanks, Mary.

 

 

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 11:52 am Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

Happy sigh!



Author's Response: Thank you, Anne.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 9:31 am Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

So long as the keep relishing in their very differences. SLOC and I are chalk and cheese and compliment each other so long as I remember that's what is good about our relationship. I'm glad they enjoy their oppositeness



Author's Response: Oh, I don't think there's any chance of that, do you, Fiona? Even in death....

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 9:23 am Title: Chapter 26 - An Occasion of Sin

Oh please let Gill infect Rosalie with ideas. Love Nell calling Hilda "Her Serene Highness".

i think the twins and their parents would love Nell. It's a shame they'll never meet.



Author's Response: Oh, they'll meet one day... But, yes, it would be good for Gill to infect Rosalie. Now I wonder... Thank you, Fiona.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 4:19 am Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

That was lovely, thank you. Love the last line



Author's Response: Thank you, Fiona.

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 1:29 am Title: Chapter 20 - Intermission

Yay! There's more!

The Friendship Book really was a beautiful present, so many memories in there... I can understand why Nell looks at it so often.

"Anyway, the Kalahari isn’t a true desert. It’s only semi-arid. Trust me, I’m a geographer.”" Hahahahaha oh Nell! I think it's the "trust me" bit that really kills me. And plasters and cushions and cuddling up to camels.... Priceless!

I love Hilda's fury when Nell tells her it was all a joke, and Nell's struggle to keep a straight face throughout the day. Well done her for actually pulling it off!



Author's Response: Welcome back to the mayhem, Elennare!

Reviewer: Jenmy Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 11:43 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

what a treat!  That car would also beach more to my taste than the flashy monsters!  Hilda is really spoiling nell again, bless her.  Loved the cameo appearance if jack lambert as well.  Thanks Mary xx



Author's Response: Thank you, Jenny.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 9:46 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

I had forgotten that Ian Stewart was involved.  

Jack and Nell with their heads under the bonnet would have been a slight to see.

Thank you Mary



Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review, Pauline.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 9:19 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

Love the car purring like a contented tiger! Nell is going to enjoy the rest of her day, thanks, Mary



Author's Response: Can you be sure of that, Ivohenry? *gurgles to self* What makes you so certain that Hilda has no more *treats* for Nell? This day is not over yet! Thank you for reading and for the review.

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 8:39 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

Nell’s eyes glowed. “I think it’s the very differences that cement us, dear girl.”

They truly are two halves of one whole. Thank you, Mary



Author's Response: Oh, they are, Chalet Girl, they are. Thank you.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 8:21 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

Another lovely slice of this delectable birthday 'cake'. The car sounds just fantastic although, like Hilda, I would be content just to be driven (or perhaps to drive) the lovely old vehicle. I can imagine the excitement at both schools to see their heads riding in state and of course Jack Lambert would want a closer inspection.
Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: Oh, what a delightful way to put it, Linda - *another slice of this delectable birthday cake.* I think you should be writing this!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 8:09 pm Title: Chapter 27 - Mine! All Mine!

Hmm - I may be biased, but I still maintain that there is no more attractive luxury car model than a Rolls Royce at its best - a Bentley pales by comparison, even though they may look alike in some respects!!  

Trust Hilda to subsume her own preferences and select a coupe, rather than a hard top model, for this very special outing, knowing how much Nell loves to feel "the wind in her hair" when in a car.   I love the reaction of the girls at both St. Mildred's and the school proper; as for Jane and co's temerity in beggin for that special treat for Jack, well, that's simply an example of what true friends will do for each other, no matter what their age, isn't it?  I'm glad Hilda agreed to their request, I've no doubt Jack, as well as Nell, will live on those memories of what's under the bonnet of that car for many months to come.  

This may not be a "special" birthday for Nell, but it's certainly turning into a day of special memories for her, notwithstanding the first part of it! (And I think even those, in the end, will form part of her memories of the day.)

Thank you, Mary

 



Author's Response: Agreed, Elder. Once she's recovered her sense of humour, those *treats* at the start of the day will all be part of the day's wonder. Thank you.

Reviewer: Jenny Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 2:05 pm Title: Chapter 26 - An Occasion of Sin

Hilda's Machiavellian streak becomes ever clearer! I love the embellishments by the 'minions' - especially the chair! SO enjoying this Mary, and glad to hear that Hilda is talking to you again!

Author's Response: Thank you, Jenny.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 10:05 pm Title: Chapter 26 - An Occasion of Sin

And so the repartee continues....  I do love the way Hilda painstakingly tidies up all the wrapping papers, arranges Nell's gifts and cards - and then promptly undoes her own work when Nell comments, only to re-do it while Nell is finally changing!!  Also love the idea that Gill and others "improved" on the "treats" which Hilda herself had planned to enliven Nell's day without acknowledging that it was her birthday!  I must admit I don't recall which special eating place would be sure to be open on Sunday, so I shall contain my soul in patience until Hilda and Nell reach it at the end of their travels.

Thank you, Mary.

 

 



Author's Response: You surprise me, Elder. I thought you remembered everything!!!!!!!!! *giggles wildly* It's a while before we get there so that might give time for *recollection in tranquillity*. More fun, of course, if you don't recall!! Glad you enjoyed the sight of Hilda trailing *clouds of glory* round the room. Hmm, think I've been reading too much Wordsworth!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 7:40 pm Title: Chapter 26 - An Occasion of Sin

Oh, Mary, I do love the banter between Nell and Hilda. They know each other so well and each gives balance to the other. I really enjoyed the interchange over the discarded present wrappings. Nell's untidiness is as frustrating to Hilda as her fastidiousness is to Nell. I can sympathise with Nell! But the picture of Hilda replacing the paper and ribbons around the room was just priceless.

And another instalment to look forward to tomorrow. What more could I want!

Thank you Mary.

Author's Response: I think that picture of Hilda trailing the rubbish behind her will stick with me always, so glad you enjoyed it, Linda. As for the banter, I never feel I really do justice to their imagined repartee...

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 7:03 pm Title: Chapter 26 - An Occasion of Sin

Thank you Mary.  I remember the place that was aways open for Dinner,  There have been sections I do not remember, but that is very slear.

Wondering if the girls have rabbled to the main school and are being joined by Nells missing staff.

Good to see Hilda has decided to talk to you again, she must know you are feeling better.

 



Author's Response: Oh, now that would be telling, Pauline! *winks* But you'll soon find out. BTW Hilda hasn't been talking to me THAT much, so be patient...

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jan 2015 5:54 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

They are so very happy together, and it is quite tear-jerking to compare scenes such as this with Hilda's grief in ND. But I think Hilda was right when she looks back in ND and realises how all-in-all they were to each other, perhaps too much so. She certainly now (in ND-land) has many more people on whom "to squander [her] love – and [her] hard-earned wages! "



Author's Response: But when you're head, it's very hard to be open to others, for all sorts of reasons. They might reveal what you've said, or others might be jealous or people might take advantage, although, as you say, Anne, in ND she is now realising that being more open would have helped. Indeed, I think they did trust Jeanne de Lachennais. But don't be sad, because she has these beautiful memories to sustain her. Thank you for being so kind as to comment in both places. Even as I site here, I am typing up more ND. She is finally talking to me.

Reviewer: Linda Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jan 2015 12:51 am Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

That was wonderful Mary. Such very moving words expressing the depth of love between Hilda and Nell. They really are soul mates and completely understand each other's needs and desires, whilst enjoying playing tricks on each other.

I am now looking forward to their trip in the amazing sports car and whatever adventures lie before them.

I do so understand Hilda's views on doing things whilst you still have health and strength . My philosophy entirely. There is a whole world out there and so much to be experienced. Hilda's future in ND just confirms this.

Thank you Mary. This is great!

Author's Response: Um, that was supposed to be in their future, Linda!!!!!!!!! *stares in shock* Not in my plans - or not yet! I suppose I could cobble something together - instead of more ND!!!! - along with another Fidelma adventure!! No time! No time! But bless you for such a lovely review.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.