Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 9:58 am Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

I keep enjoying this more and more, thanks Mary

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 12:10 am Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

Oh now there is a pudding worth eating! Wonderful story and so good to see them both so relaxed and happy!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2015 8:18 pm Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

Oh, lovely, bread and butter pudding, but what a fabulous recipe, brioche and marmalade anc currants soaked in whisky. You are making me hungry Mary!

I do love the air of total companionship between them, they understand each other so well and are almost two halves of a whole, I don't wonder that Sinclair can sense this and wish for their friendship. I'm so pleased that Hilda and Nell have invited him to share their feast. I am sure that we will learn a little more about this talented man.

Thank you Mary. I didn't manage to find time to read these last two chapters as they were posted, but have enjoyed a double treat this evening.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2015 8:09 pm Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

Fish and chips, how wonderful, and wrapped in newspaper as they really should be. The just don't taste the same without newspaper, Im absolutely certain that the ink must have added something! And, of course, eaten with one's fingers, the proper way. We actually went to a restaurant recently where fish and chips came on 'newspaper' printed with all sorts of snippets to read about the restaurant as one consumed the food. brilliant! What a wonderful meal in such sumptuous surroundings. Now to read about the dessert!
Thank you Mary.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2015 4:54 pm Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

Poor Sinclair! So quick to appreciate their "wisdom and understanding and self-possession", and then so swiftly encountering Hilda's steely command....



Author's Response: Thank you for appreciating the steeliness of that command, Anne.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2015 11:01 pm Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

I think Sinclair feels himself very privileged to have this glimpse of Hilda and Nell so much at peace with themselves as they walked back from the water's edge.  And we are privileged, too, because it is of glimpses such as this that memories are truly made of, and which help sustain us later as Hilda struggles to find her way through her deep grief in ND.  I had forgotten the richness of that bread and butter pudding; I've never had one made with brioche and marmalade myself, perhaps I'll try making one sometime.  I'm glad they insist Sinclair shares it with them though. 

Thank you, Mary.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2015 9:16 pm Title: Chapter 32 - A Gentle Command

Of course Bread and Butter pudding.  I must admot brioche and marmalade is one of my favourite versions.  But as i make it for one it is both main course and desert for meal.

 

thank you Mary

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2015 11:27 am Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

Hilda is really going to miss Nell on her birthday with all these memories. Not that she would ever want to have given up the experience, but the bittersweet pain of it all. Of remembering. And it would only hurt if anyone tried to fill in the gaps. I think is really showing me Hilda's loss all the more. 

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07 Feb 2015 11:22 am Title: Chapter 30 - A Twilight Gift

Thanks for the hint😜 I do remember this from the archives and loved it. Am glad you're reposting on here and I get to comment this time around. I can't wait for the penny to drop

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2015 9:31 pm Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

Fish and chips - wonderful! No wonder Hilda was a little taken aback when she saw the magnificence of the surroundings!

And yes, I still enjoy reading it, Mary :)

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2015 4:44 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Poor Nell! What a day she's having...

She was going to end up with a headache if she wasn’t careful, but why couldn’t they all leave her in peace? Were they all in cahoots? Yes, Nell, they are, each and every one of them! Matron especially seems to be having far too much fun with this.

“By the way, I’m thinking of instituting the system of Headmistress’s Reports over here. Guess who’ll be the first on the carpet. I don’t know what’s wrong with you all this lovely day, but if anyone else comes knocking on my door for anything, they might not live to tell the tale.” I don't think Head's Reports are aplicable to staff, Nell... *ponders what it would involve - being sent to bed early? Banned from walks?*



Author's Response: Extra classes to teach? Writing everyone else's reports for them? Planning Nell's science lessons for her? Marking everyone's books? I could go on... and on... Thanks, Elennare!!

Reviewer: Jenny Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2015 1:08 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

Think I'll have to have fish and chips for dinner tonight! You have made my mouth water..... Sinclair is a brilliant new character, so I hope we will be seeing more of him!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2015 11:26 am Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

Oooh, my mouth is watering these fish and chips - and it's only just after breakfast!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 11:02 pm Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

Oh brother - the lap of luxury, both surroundings and service - and then fish and chips in newspaper!!  Talk about the sublime and the ridiculous!!  Only Hilda could dream up that study in contrasts, but she certainly knew what would tickle Nell's funny bone.  I must say I'm still giggling - I'm like Nell, don't remember when I last had fish and chips out of newspaper, though I've had plenty of good fish and chips!!  And of course tea is the only drink to go with a meal like that!!  Definitely "Memorable and different, infuriating and downright dangerous, but flawlessly planned and executed...." as Nell herself recognises with such delight, just as she understands that "You know me far too well, love and always seem to divine what I need or want before I do so myself..."

Thanks, Mary - I do wonder just what delectable - or plebian - dessert will appear after this!!

Reviewer: Elaineb Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 11:00 pm Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

I just love Hilda's final comment here!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 10:42 pm Title: Chapter 31- That Complicated Meal of Sinclair's

Thank you Mary.  No mushy peas?  Or are they a Yorkshire favourite, not found in Lanchashire.

What can Hilda have chosen to fall fish and chips?  Jelly and Ice cream, or a sherry trifle.  

I must admit I miss the newspaper which Healthy and Safety have replaced with greaseproof paper these days.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 9:41 am Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

Thanks. Am really loving the repartee between the fairy princess and the old curmudgeon! Sinclair must be enjoying his own ringside seats! 

 

BTW is the Drabble with twins in it? I have a vague recollection of a durable I think you wrote with twin men in it



Author's Response: Fiona, read Chapter 30, The Twilight Gift, that I posted yesterday, if you haven't already, and watch Hilda. Keep watching her reactions and you might find the answer to your question. Thank you for reviewing two chapters.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 9:32 am Title: Chapter 28 - A Princess and Her Stooge

Sighs with contentment at the post.

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2015 2:51 am Title: Chapter 21 - Nell in the Doldrums

(My computer has died! *sob* so I've been reading but not commenting - catching up now)

Poor Nell, woken at 6 on her birthday to hunt for burglars! And then jumping on her bed-tester... I have no sympathy for Grace, she deserves it ;) Oh, and how Hilda must have enjoyed being the one to wake Nell up ridiculously early for a change - and by proxy so she didn't even have to get up to boot!

"Nothing to eat and drink before Mass. " *blink* Is that a rule? What if you go to evening Mass? 12 years of catholic school, and I learned nothing religious... (I couldn't actually name the 7 sacraments while playing a memory board game the other day, I was missing confession *blush*)

Ah well, much as I have enjoyed this idle chit-chat, I must love you and leave you. Places to go, people to see and all that.” And that is where I definitely decided it was a wind up, and am tutting at Nell for not beginning to suspect at least - much too deliberately breezy for Hilda!



Author's Response: Hugs for the computer, Elennare, but thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2015 9:38 pm Title: Chapter 30 - A Twilight Gift

I've managed to catch up with the latest two chapters of this wonderful treat tonight and it just gets better and better. I do love the banter between Hilda and Nell and I don't wonder that Sinclair struggled to keep a straight face initially, but eventually even he succumbed to their 'charms'. His special cocktail sounds delicious, a wonderful start to their al fresco meal in such beautiful surroundings. I would love to join them.
Thank you Mary, I'm so pleased you got your toolbar back. It will make posting so much easier.

Reviewer: Elaineb Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2015 8:24 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

I'm loving reading this again, and it provides a poignant antidote to New Dreams on LGM - the wonderful memories that Hilda must have, and the loss of the chance to create more...

(Quietly admits to having looked this up in the archives a week or two ago to enjoy the whole story, but also enjoying the daily updates!)



Author's Response: How dare you be so sneaky and go and find out what happens later on, young lady??? *grins wickedly* Thank you, Elaine.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2015 7:44 pm Title: Chapter 30 - A Twilight Gift

Thank you Mary I missed you not posting yesterday.  

Pleased you found the toolbar, sorry I was away from the internet when it went missing or I could have helped you find it.  

The idea of Hilda being reduced to going under the table because of drink is a lovely one, but Nell tap dancing on the top deck of an ocean liner bets it.



Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing this chapter as well as the current one, Pauline. Glad you likes Nell tap dancing on the top deck.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2015 6:22 pm Title: Chapter 30 - A Twilight Gift

OH my - I actually read this first about 4 hours ago, but real life has got in the way of my posting a response until now!   But what a wonderful episode to come back to - full of humour, in which Sinclair was only to ready to join, and the special affection which these two ladies have for each other, and which shines out so clearly underneath their bantering exchanges.  I think I'd be sticking at just one of those delectable cocktails myself - the mixture may be nectar, but it also sounds lethal!  I love the description of the garden and its surroundings, too, definitely a most peaceful spot.

Thank you, Mary, for another fun-filled, affectionate episode - a lovely contrast to both the snow drifting lazily down outside my window, to say nothing of the piles already out there, and to the rest of my somewhat hectic morning.  I *think* I know what's coming next - will be looking forward to the revelations.

 

 

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2015 2:20 am Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

Love the description of the house and look forward to the meal! And, Mary, please don't assume that people aren't enjoying the story just because they don't comment on every chapter! Some of us are reading on mobile phones,some don't have time to comment and some like me aren't eloquent enough to say something interesting every time!x

Author's Response: Shesings, thank you for responding, but you don't have to be eloquent. I never am when responding to drabbles, and who says I'm eloquent when writing? You certainly are when writing drabbles.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2015 10:20 am Title: Chapter 29 - Nell is Overcome

I wasn't on the board when you first posted this, but must have read it in the archives at least twice! And I'm much enjoying it this time round as well.

I suspect the mysterious Sinclair is probably as overwhelmed by Nell and Hilda, though he's hiding it well, as they are by the whole set up.

(I should be working, but am rewarding myself for shovelling and sweeping the snow off the drive!)



Author's Response: Gosh, Anne, why on earth would you read it three times? Is there any excitement left for you? Thank you so much for taking the time to post on this chapter.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.