Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 9:20 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Thank you, Mary! That was just so beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you, shesings. I'm sorry I took you from fun and frolic to more serious matters - but so often the two go hand in hand in life.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 7:53 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Part of Peter's story is so sad, and poor Hilda is very upset that her usual insight missed the signs that asking him to tell it could be hard on him.  But he rises to the occasion; while both Hilda and Nell are very touched by the story and the consequences; in so many ways the outcome is a classic example of the axiom that when life hands you lemons, you make lemonade.  It's a shame his son can't come to terms with Julia's death and what he continues to see as his father's neglect of her in her last months, but clearly his daughter understands.  She also encouraged him in setting up his Foundation, and I'm sure the two of them draw great comfort from the sense that he can feel Julia all around, too, supporting his venture.  

Hm, I've noticed that you keep dropping hints of a Sinclair "visit" to ND before long - I think I'm beginning to have an inkling of how Peter, in particular could have a role in Hilda's grief journey.  Will wait and see if I am correct.

Despite the sadness of Peter's story, this piece is filled with such love, affection, faith and calm - a lovely finish to this day.  Thank you, Mary.

 



Author's Response: Thank you for this lengthy, loving review, Elder. I wonder what you imagine his role would be...

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 7:10 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Good that Peter can share his story with Hilda and Nell. Just wondering if he's going to appear in ND, don't recallhim so far, but could have missed it if it was a while ago.



Author's Response: Why do you think I've been re-posting Revenge, Ivohenry? *winks and nods*

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 6:16 pm Title: Chapter - The Haunted Chambers of the Night

Thank you Mary.  This chapter has shown me how to help the husband of a friend who died last week from a DVT and pulmonary embolis on route to Australia where they where they were living.  all communication at present is via e-mails and the distance makes one feel helpless. 



Author's Response: Aw, Pauline, how moving that you think this would help you sustain someone who is suffering. It just shows that you never know when your words may help another. I shall keep him in my prayers, as well as his poor wife.

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2015 5:44 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

Words almost fail me. But I had to write something. Such a moving chapter, full of compassion, faith and the love that not even death itself can destroy.

Author's Response: Thank you, Cal. That was very sweet of you.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2015 9:06 pm Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

I would do have enjoyed the ice cream birthday cake, the best possible ending to a wonderfully evocative meal.

I loved the way that Hilda untangled the web which Peter and Jake had woven through the afternoon and evening. Of course, with her wonderful gift of reading characters, she would notice the slight differences between the twins which Nell would have missed.

I look forward to the next instalment when we may learn more about these two identical yet so different twins.

Thank you Mary.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2015 9:43 am Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

That was sheer fun. I would love the Sinclair twins to meet the Mousellini twins (have I got that right?) and their parents as I think they would have so much fun and of course Peter has to meet Ellie. 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2015 11:46 pm Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

Thank you Mary.  I just remembered the twins,  but had forgotten the full story.  At times i am tempted to go back to CBB and read it all, but I am enjoying the waiting and the gradual revelations.

Reviewer: Jenny Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2015 1:11 am Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

Wonderful! Hilda is just so clever! To spot such differences and work it all out so quickly is just brilliant!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2015 12:03 am Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

Love the way Hilda did the denouement! Love the twins being so alike yet so different!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2015 10:13 pm Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

Takes them apart, and then puts them back together again! I seem to remember that being said of Hilda elsewhere, Mary :) Thank you.

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2015 7:58 pm Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

You're right, Mary. I hadn't foreseen that twist, but knowing you (and Hilda), perhaps I shouldn't be surprised.

Author's Response: I can't think what you mean, Cal! *grins evilly* I do hope you liked the way Hilda pulled the two men to pieces and then put them back together again.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2015 6:45 pm Title: Chapter 35 - The Loose Thread

I love the way Hilda carefully untangles this plot and establishes the twins' individual identities - she definitely sees all those subtle little differences, doesn't she?  And well-deserves being compared to the famous women sleuths as Nell gradually understands the deception.  I'm glad, too, that Hilda defuses what the men feared might have been thought offensive by reassuring them so quickly that neither she nor Nell are offended by the deception - though I suspect Ian's face will be red by the time she's remonstrated with him later!!  And of course Jake is right - Hilda is definitely one of the few who would have worked out the situation.  

Thank you, Mary for my enjoyable lunchtime reading - OK, lunch and the computer might not be the best behaviour, but I like doing it, so...!!  Now I'm looking forward to hearing the twins' own story just as much as Hilea and Nell are...

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2015 11:01 am Title: Chapter 34 - One Surprise Too Many

Oohh, I love icecream cake............

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2015 9:07 am Title: Chapter 33 - Who Walks Beside Me in the Gloom?

This just keeps getting better and better, thanks Mary

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2015 9:01 am Title: Chapter 34 - One Surprise Too Many

I must admit I didn't see that coming and Sinclair must have had so much fun doing it

Reviewer: Jenny Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2015 6:21 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

I knew it! I knew the butler was too good to be true! Can't wait to read the next instalment!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2015 11:56 am Title: Chapter 34 - One Surprise Too Many

Two chapters to catch up on - a real treat. I love watching Nell enjoying all her treats to the full. And Hilda doesn't just have eyes in the back of her head, but all round as well! How sharp she is!

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Feb 2015 9:46 am Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

I'm glad to see that my hunch about Sinclair's true identity was correct!

Love the interaction between these three.

Author's Response: But are you sure you're right, Cal? I think you need to see the next chapter.....

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2015 10:14 pm Title: Chapter 34 - One Surprise Too Many

So the cat is being let out of the bag.  Hilda is being very careful, with this request-

"Hilda interrupted him once more. “Sinclair, you shared our bread and butter pudding so you will sit and share this with us, as well. You would hurt us very much if you didn’t.” "

 

Thank you  Mary,  I hope there is more before I return to Leeds at the weekend.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2015 9:41 pm Title: Chapter 34 - One Surprise Too Many

That ice cream cake is clearly both a thing of beauty and a treat to the taste-buds, thought after the fish and chips and bread and butter pudding which preceded it, I'm not surprised neither Nell nor Hilda have room for more than a small amount of it. As for the magic of the sparkler, the candles, but above all those fairy lights in the roof of the awning, they just enhance the beauty of the entire scene.  Yet all of it, both meal and service somehow take a back seat to the affection between these two which shines so clearly  throughout this story. I know we've said it before, but they so clearly were indeed two halves of the same whole, something which only makes Hilda's grief in ND so much more poignant.  And are we about to solve the mystery of who "sir"is? - I think so!!

Thank you, Mary.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2015 5:28 pm Title: Chapter 33 - Who Walks Beside Me in the Gloom?

Wonderful and I was definitely there seeing the love between Hilda and Nell and watching Sinclair become a fan too.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 10:58 pm Title: Chapter 33 - Who Walks Beside Me in the Gloom?

“Cool, green dusk here among the trees, and out there a truly exquisite artist’s palette of luminous light and colour,  It is magical and marvellous, and all laid on just to please you. Happy birthday, my dearest Nell.”

That passage does sum up their relationship so well.  Loved Nell asking Hilda if Gwynneth was the only person she obeyed!  Especially as Hilda and Gwynneth seem to take it in turns to boss the other.

 

Thank you Mary

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 9:50 pm Title: Chapter 33 - Who Walks Beside Me in the Gloom?

More delightful exchanges here, both between Hilda and Nell and the two of them and Sinclair.  Although memories of reading this before are beginning to surface, especially when I read of the "keen light" shining in Hilda's eyes as the coversation with him continues - I wonder what she suspects, though I don't doubt you will enlighten us in your own good time, Mary.  I just love the description of the garden as evening deepens, too, which Hilda sums up so graphically: "Cool, green dusk here among the trees and out there a truly equisite artist's palette of luminous light and colour..." 

Peace, tranquility, tenderness - it's all there, isn't it?

 

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 8:38 pm Title: Chapter 33 - Who Walks Beside Me in the Gloom?

Oh, Mary, how I would have loved to take Sinclair's place at that amazing meal in such wonderful surroundings. It would be a real privilege to share the meal and feel the love which flows between these two remarkable women.

The final paragraph of this chapter sums it up so well.

Thank you Mary.



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.