Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2015 11:41 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

Ah this is such a lovely passage, how wonderful he love and generosity between them!

Author's Response: Thank you, shesings - not just for this but for the comments in LGM.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2015 10:56 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

Mary how well this post sums up their relationship.  Is it ant wonder that Hilda misses Nell so much in ND.  The hope of hrowing old together as the best is yet to comeis therein their conversations and teasing of each other and yet we know it will not occur.

Thank you mary.



Author's Response: That's the sad part, isn't it, Pauline? But one can take comfort that they lived their relationship to the full, worked and played together, and never gave up on each other. Death throws its hand grenade into every relationship in this life, soon or late. To love is to accept the pain of loss.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2015 9:32 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Promises to Keep

Lots of surprises for Nell when she finally opens her cards and presents, not least those which emerge from Hilda's capacious bag.  But even more than the physical presents, it is  the love which so clearly flows between these two, the "laughter and the love of friends" of which Hilaire Belloc spoke, which is so spellbinding.  

They read each other's hearts.  That was enough, and more than enough. 

Even more than that, they were truly two halves of the same whole, as Hilda's grief at Nell's death so clearly reveals in ND.

Thank you, Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you, Elder. Perhaps there's a lesson there for all of us, to appreciate the 'laughter and the love' more than we do, and to give to our friends and loved ones as much as Hilda and Nell give to each other.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Jan 2015 9:34 am Title: Chapter 24 - Intrinsically One

Love Hilda's revenge and Nell's reaction

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2015 10:14 pm Title: Chapter 24 - Intrinsically One

I loved the picture of an irate Nell with her hands grasped tightly round Hilda's neck but I am so pleased that Hilda managed to stop the action before she actually lost consciousness. The description of the St Mildred's staff as 'minions' really made me smile
. I'm not sure that the likes if Vi and Gill would appreciate being thought of as minions, but I expect that they would really enjoy being asked by Hilda to assist her in playing tricks on Nell as a birthday prank.

I do love the Robert a Browning quote but it has added poignancy when we consider Hilda's future devastating loneliness in ND.

Thank you, Mary.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2015 8:41 pm Title: Chapter 24 - Intrinsically One

I koved the way the staff added their own contributions to the confusion of Nell's day.

Thank you Mary



Author's Response: Thank you, Pauline.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2015 6:27 pm Title: Chapter 24 - Intrinsically One

Oh heavens - the unravelling of the escapades is even funnier than their execution - though I'd have hoped Nell would have realised her own strength just a little more quickly than she did when she attempted to throttle Hilda!!!  But behind all the banter, the love the two of them have for each other still shines through, Hilda's "What you see here, what we have together, is forever and a day, and for all eternity", rings so true, and only serves to heighten the grief she feels after Nell's death.

Thank you, Mary 



Author's Response: Oh, bless you for seeing that about the unravelling. Hilda had fun, didn't she? And the staff had even more, I reckon. Guess it says a lot about the relationship between Nell and her staff. Thank you, Elder.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2015 5:43 pm Title: Chapter 24 - Intrinsically One

Hilda and "her" minions"! This is such fun, Mary.



Author's Response: Thank you, Anne.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2015 9:10 am Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

I think I'll join in on the laughter.  Love the relationship Nell has with her staff and the easy comraderie and affection. Makes ND all the more poignant.

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2015 11:58 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

oh quickly!  More! More!  I can't wait - poor Nell's never going to get over this! 

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 8:58 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

Poor Nell! The last few chapter made me giggle and cheered up another day.

Thank you, Mary

 

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 8:18 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

O dear Hilda, I think I would make sure I was behind a desk.  I am pleased Nell has twigged at last.

 

Thanks Mary

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 6:09 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

OOh lovely! Mind you, as someone who loathes practical jokes, my sympathies are with Nell!

Author's Response: I'm not fond of them myself, shesings. Thank you for this, and also for the insightful review I've just found on LGM with regard to Hilda, Matey and Nancy.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 6:03 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Heh heh! The plot thickens.......

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 5:55 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

Like Linda I had completely forgotten this "twist" in the tale - but having giggledmadly at the spectacle of Nell measuring her length, not once but twice in rapid succession I then had to laugh out loud at for her growing outrage - and her language when she finally "twigs" what is going on.  

Thank you, Mary, for another day brightener - I'd just come in from shopping, OK, no new snow here today - yet - but it's about -9 out there!  Reading this was just the light relief I wanted - I've giggled so much that I'm now warm again and looking forward to seeeing just what Hilda has really dreamed up for this special day.

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21 Jan 2015 5:06 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Nell's Strange Fondness for Floors

Oh Mary, I'd completely forgotten this bit of the story. What a great wind up. Nell was fit to burst and so very very frustrated with everything. What a lot of planning has gone into the lead up to this birthday surprise for Nell.

Thank you Mary, you really cheered up my very frustrating day. It's never stopped snowing here!

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 11:32 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

unless........Unless...  Hilda strikes again!! Tee he's!



Author's Response: Thank you, Jenny.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 10:54 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Unless.........  I think you need to go and listen at the Staff room door Nell.  Of course there might be no one there!  

Hilda is certainly gaining her revenge.

Thanks Mary.



Author's Response: Oh, Pauline, don't put evil thoughts in my head!! *giggles* Thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 6:34 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

So she's getting suspicious, hope something nice happens soon!



Author's Response: Aw, enjoy the fun, ivohenry!! Let's face it, she gives no quarter, does she? Think of all the niceness that Hilda will surely follow it up with - if indeed she's the one behind it all. Thank you so much for reviewing.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 5:13 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Poor, poor Nell! You are mean to her, Mary!



Author's Response: Moi? *smiles serenely* Perish the thought! Nell can always give as good she gets. Think of that April Fool desert brochure! Think of that dare to Hilda that she also take her place in front of the knives!! I think Hilda should stretch this out to infinity!

Reviewer: Linda Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 4:44 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Oh lovely, more and more frustration for Nell I don wonder she is becoming perplexed at disappearing birthday cards and latest copies of her scientific journals, plus the unexpected appearance of the damp bed tester. Will she actually explode before Hilda reveals her latest surprise? I'm longing for the next episode as you do love to leave us on a cliff edge don't t you Mary? Thank you

Author's Response: Well, sometimes it's the only place to leave one's readers, Linda. *winks evilly* You know you love it, really! Thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 3:45 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Please May I Re-Wind Today and Start Again?

Oh what a lovely collection of "gremlins" are disturbing Nell's peace today - and of course she feels the effects even more keenly because no-one, but no-one, has yet appeared to notice just what day in her life it is!!!!    I'm sure this is all a very cleverly staged diversion masterminded by Hilda, but given the day, one can only feel sympathy with Nell's feelings of bewilderment, and even exasperation.  

While I know Hilda's ability to stretch things out - especially when she is out of Nell's sight so that there is no risk of Nell tumbling to the fact that it's all a "have", I do hope she will take pity on her - and on us - before too much longer!  I'm sure she has several celebrations planned for Nell and will be looking forward to learning what they are before too long.

Nevertheless, Nell's misadventures have brightened a dull Monday morning here - thanks, Mary.

 



Author's Response: Glad it has something going for it and brightened your day, Elder. Thank you for the lovely, kind review.

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Jan 2015 12:06 am Title: Chapter 21 - Nell in the Doldrums

hahaha.  As if Hilda would have forgotten!  Can't wait for more!!!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Jan 2015 4:17 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Hilda Makes Plans

ooh this will be fun!

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jan 2015 11:12 pm Title: Chapter 21 - Nell in the Doldrums

Hilda is obviously the culprit, she really has got Nell guessing! So what has she planned for Nell's real birthday surprise??



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.