Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Apr 2014 12:50 pm Title: Chapter 6

Pleased Rosalie was married to Jack and loved the memorial.  

I am sure Lucy will find Tom an interesting research topic. I hope she is still alive.



Author's Response: Glad you liked it :-)

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 11:58 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

So presumably Dr Maynard is Geoff, and his wife was Marie Courvoisier?

This is  so interesting - I'm another one hooked on family history, and one does find sad stories when digging into the past, as well as happy ones.

Sad about Joey and her babies, but quite a possibility, even as late as the '60s.

 



Author's Response: Yep, that's right :-)

Reviewer: exile Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 10:24 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

Well there's a certain irony to Joey dying that way. I think this is a great drabble, even if I am being attacked by swarms of plot bunnies - and they haven't even bought me any chocolate which they surely should do at this time of year.



Author's Response: Thank you ! I did think of you for the Mike drabble maybe.... *sends lots and lots of chocolate and bunny food* I'd like this to help spark other drabble ideas, even if they don't fit the world perfectly, as there's so many details that would be interesting to have filled in, so yay for attacks of plot bunnies! If you want any help with any of those bunnies you know where I am !

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 8:45 pm Title: Chapter 5

Sniff. Poor Joey. I can imagine her delight at another pregnancy. Wonderful ther her books are still popular and she's so well known. Sad that her name's being used in this way.

Author's Response: I do feel mean, but it does seem a likely possibility. And the use of a name and loss of intellectual property through loopholes is only too likely.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 8:25 pm Title: Chapter 5

So Joey didn't get her quads after all - that's so sad.   I hope Lucy finds out the connections between all the graves before she has to go home.  The Chalet School does scholarships so perhaps she will go there to be near her Dad and then find out about everyone.



Author's Response: It is, I intended on her living for ages, but it didn't happen :-(

Reviewer: judithR Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 5:22 pm Title: Chapter 5

Like very much - any chance of "back stories" or is this for other drabble writers?



Author's Response: Thank you, glad you like it. I might end up filling some in myself, but no plans for that at present. Lucy as a character though I may end up doing more with, so maybe some back stories will happen with that.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 4:23 pm Title: Chapter 5

There are so many stories here, lots and lots of bunny food! Just going to go back to try to find out who Dr Maynard's wife was..................

Author's Response: Marie :-)

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 3:36 pm Title: Chapter 5

Come back when you're done running please ;) It's sad that Joey's books have not remained true to her style.

I had never thought about graveyards or the stories behind them until this. 

Look forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: They are quite interesting places for story creation, as there's often a lot of information there. Probably helps that I'm interested in genealogy so more aware of them!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 2:26 pm Title: Chapter 5

I am not surprised you posted this and ran!

At least EBD books are not updated though they are cut in some publications.  The additions to the series are published under their authors names, with an ackowledgement to EBD.  I hope Lucy can find out more on the internet which is happier news.



Author's Response: Yes I was more thinking of some of the things done in Enid Blyton's name, or books like The Three Investigators etc

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Apr 2014 12:24 am Title: Chapter 4

The Bettany gravestone is so sad :( And while it's nice to see that Madge had al ong life, how sad to realise how many of the gravestones are of people who're related to her and died before her (I actually went back to check David's date of death). 

I love the idea of the memorial trees. 

Poor Lucy, so worried about her Dad :( And hmm, a great aunt in Taverton - is there such a thing as coincidence? 

Very curious as to who the next grave belongs to! 



Author's Response: Nope, no such thing as coincidence in a drabble :-) And Madge would have had a terrible few years but she also had many other that lasted a long time too :-)

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 11:48 pm Title: Chapter 3

I loved Tom's tribute to Mike, so fitting. And Margot achieved her ambition of joining a religious order - from her age and place of death,  I suspect it wasn't a quiet life. And since there's no memorial to her triplets next to it, I'm guessing they're still alive? Like Lucy, I can see how the last four died from the date, and like her, I'm also beginning to speculate about the stories behind the facts. (Not writing them, before you say anything! Death fic is really not my thing).

About the mixed religion graveyards, I didn't mean to be misleading and say it never happened! I was thinking more of historic graveyards, or ones attached to a specific church - for instance, I know the first director of the Cordoba observarory's daughters were originally buried in the observatory grounds in 1874 because as protestants, they couldn't be buried in the local Catholic cemetery (lots of ghost stories related to that!); but I have visited more modern ones that now I think about it were mixed-religion. Since this one is attached to two chapels of different faiths, it makes perfect sense that people belonging to both would be buried/have memorials there.



Author's Response: Glad you liked it :-) and it wasn't just your comment, was also wondering myself. :-)

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 11:04 pm Title: Chapter 2

How sad that both the Courvoisier twins died relatively young, and David's son... It's good to know the Pfeiffens are still gonig strong on the Platz! And I hadn't spotted Nurse Mensch before *wonders who she is - one of Gisela's daughters perhaps?*. 

It would be odd to see Austria, Guernsey and Armishire being repeatedly mentioned in a Swiss graveyard... We need (the ghost of?) Joey to suddenly turn up and begin regaling Lucy with the history of the Chalet School ;)



Author's Response: Lol. Well thats another plot bunny for someone to write!

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 10:43 pm Title: Chapter 4

Poor Madge. She saw so many family members die, often quite young. I can see her as a dignified old lady.

Author's Response: Yes she would be :-)

Reviewer: Elennare Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 9:33 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

A really interesting start! Lucy's playlist reminds me of my own and my sister's :) (Also, I have just heard a new-to-me song thanks to the quoted lyrics!) I loved the glimpse of Jack and her car business, and how the CS has had to comply with H&S regulations - not surprising after the amount of accidents they've had :P I like Lucy herself, too, she comes off as a very sympathetic character, and the way her Dad's illness is always in the background of her thoughts and how she tries to distract herself seems very real.



Author's Response: Glad it works ok. And I love that song, it's great for all sorts of moods :-D

Reviewer: cestina Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 7:22 pm Title: Chapter 4

This is such a clever idea Beecharmer.   I am enjoying it very much - if enjoy is the right word for so much death!



Author's Response: Thank you - know what you mean! Its sad but also interesting to think of the lives and deaths of these people. :-)

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 7:02 pm Title: Chapter 4

Now is this last grave Joey's. I'd prefer it to be Hilda or Nell but.......

Author's Response: Interesting preference!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 6:33 pm Title: Chapter 4

What a cliff to leave us on.  I hope you will come back soon and tell us whose grave it is.



Author's Response: Will do. But need a few cliffs!

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 5:13 pm Title: Chapter 4

I never realized that mixed religions in a graveyard are unlikely. The one we have at home is for the town.

Look forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Well it might not be, I had assumed it normal before chickening out!

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Apr 2014 10:42 pm Title: Chapter 3

Why do you think mixed religions are unlikely in a graveyard? All our local graveyards are mixed. They're for the town rather than the church and they're not new. It seems fine to me that a graveyard between the two chapels would be for more than one faith. So sad that there are so many young deaths and it is fascinating wondering how they might have died.

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you liking it. Thanks again for the help with ranks for Kester and Mike. I thought it might be unlikely from some comments about Hilda and Nell not being likely to be buried together, so am glad it's not that unlikely :-)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Apr 2014 7:17 pm Title: Chapter 3

A very wide range of dates.  I can think of some causes of early death.

Thanks



Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing

Reviewer: Katharine Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Apr 2014 7:05 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

This looks interesting, please write more!



Author's Response: Have done ! Thanks for reviewing :-)

Reviewer: Chalet Girl Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07 Apr 2014 10:16 pm Title: Chapter 2

Looks intriguing. More please :D



Author's Response: Did do ! Glad it seems intriguing !

Reviewer: Jenny Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2014 11:11 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

This is looking very promising!  More please!

 



Author's Response: Thank you, hope it delivers !

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2014 8:52 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

Ooh, this is different! Love Jack running a car company and complaining about the security rules! More, please?

Author's Response: Glad it works :-)

Reviewer: JB1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2014 6:24 pm Title: Chapter 1 Avoiding thoughts

Love the comment about insurance and the glimpse into Jack's future.

Author's Response: Well I doubt anywhere would realistically insure the chalet school with all those accidents !



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.