Reviews For Jack's War
Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jan 2014 10:51 pm Title: March 1957, Part II

Oh, what a satisfying ending to this section.  Jack had to come to terms with what had happened in his own way and in his own time, but there is no doubt that Jem has been a huge help in getting him there.  Jack's father was definitely right to send for Jem when he did.  I like the idea that Madge and Jem arranging the headstone on Jo's grave made it so much easier for Jack to accept the finality of what had happened, too.

Thanks, Vick - it will definitely be good to see more in this universe before too long.



Author's Response:

Thanks for your reviews throughout, Elder. I'm glad that Jack could finally accept his past eventually, however hard and long it took him.  Hopefully, there will be more if I get the inspiration.....

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Jan 2014 10:43 pm Title: March 1957, Part II

There had better be more !! Thank you, I've loved this story. Glad Jack was able to finally move on, however long it took. Nice that he told Jem what a difference him listening made at that time. It's amazing how much of a difference people can make just by being there to listen :-)

Author's Response:

lol, I'm sure there will be if you keep feeding my bunnies!  Thanks for all your support and criticism as always.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Dec 2013 2:27 am Title: March 1957, Part I

I hope Jack is able to meet some of the ones he was a refugee with; it would be good for him.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Dec 2013 10:11 pm Title: March 1957, Part I

Thanks Vicky.  I am glad that Jack was able to revisit Austria.  I wish I had seen the porter who helped hom escape.  Perhaps he can meet some of his fellow refugees in Zurich or at the San.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Dec 2013 9:48 pm Title: March 1957, Part I

Noooooooooooooooo for it being the penultimate part !! Glad there is a stone, and glad he has been back. Am crossing fingers that the children survived.

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Dec 2013 1:45 pm Title: September 1949, Part II

Hope Jem's ideas work - not sure that Jack doesn't need to talk to someone with experience of dealing with this kind of deep and prolonged trauma.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29 Dec 2013 2:23 am Title: September 1949, Part II

Madge was lovely with Jack as is Jem.  Thanks Vick

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Dec 2013 12:51 am Title: September 1949, Part II

Madge is lovely there.

I am pleased Jem was able to help Jack and to reassure him that Dr Simpson had upset others and his approach to Jack had been a final store which made his stay impossible.

Thanks Vicky.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Dec 2013 11:15 pm Title: September 1949, Part II

Thank you, glad Madge was able to see him however slowly he has to go. Very realistic, thank you. :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Dec 2013 10:34 pm Title: September 1949, Part II

I'm glad that Jack recognised the risks of becoming addicted to the sleeping tablets for himself, and throw the rest of the bottle away, rather than have that happen, even though not taking them for more than that first two or three days may have slowed his recovery somewhat.  But the fact Jem retains faith in him, and starts encouraging him to look ahead and be involved in the planning of the new San is a very good think.  Madge's gift of the photograph, and her gentle understanding of what had happened, and why he was unable to save Jo must have really helped him, too.

Thanks, Vick.

Reviewer: Karita Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18 Dec 2013 1:01 pm Title: JUne 1938, part I

I've just read this whole thing - man, you've got me crying! Really good story, poor Jack. :'(

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Dec 2013 12:11 am Title: September 1949

Oh poor Jack! He needs proper help and counselling. He doesn't even have the outlet that a lot of people who went through the War had of being able to talk to former comrades about their experiences

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16 Dec 2013 10:30 am Title: September 1949

Poor Jack.  I never thought people would be difficult about what Jack has gone through and why does there always have to be some nasty person to put the worse possible spin on what little info they know.  Thank goodness Jem is so supportive.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Dec 2013 10:24 pm Title: September 1949

Poor Jack. I am not supprised he could not cope with dr Simpson.  Thank goodness Gottfried hear the end of end and called in Jem.  

Jack is suffering from PTSE before it was identified and therefore before it is known how to treat it.  Pleased Jem is now on the case, hope he can provide some help.

Thank you Vicky.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Dec 2013 10:14 pm Title: September 1949

Dr. Simpson was definitely way out of line, and it's a shame he tackled Jack when the latter was still so far from recovered from his experiences.  It's good to know that Jem is there for Jack though, and willing to help him to the best of his ability, even to jumping in to deal with the current medical emergency. But I'm not sure it's a good thing for him to send Jack home with instructions to take sleeping tablets, even though he certainly needs sleep. Given the state Jack is in, I just hope he isn't tempted to take an overdose!!

Thanks, Vick.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15 Dec 2013 9:45 pm Title: September 1949

Understandable, and glad Jem is there to stop Jack trying to continue when he shoudn't. Hard for Jack to stop though, work is probably his only fixed point. Glad Jem is there for him.

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Dec 2013 8:43 am Title: February 1949

Thanks Vick; Jem is so lovely to Jack

Reviewer: Audrey Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Dec 2013 1:32 am Title: JUne 1938, part I

This is absolutely excellent.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 10:17 pm Title: February 1949

Thanks Vicky.  I hope Jack and Gottfried can talk soon.  The guilt on both sides needs to be addresses and healed.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2013 10:14 pm Title: February 1949

So good to see Jack beginning to form a new life, however much he looks likely to overwork and find it hard. You realise that this is now an official alternate universe that needs lots of extra stories ? ;-)

Reviewer: emma t Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Dec 2013 9:55 pm Title: May 1945, Part III

That was lovely.Really enjoyed reading it. Thanks, Vick!

Reviewer: shesings Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Dec 2013 8:16 pm Title: May 1945, Part III

There was a good bit of gentle healing in this. It was right, and wise, of Jem to leave the pearls and ring in Jack's keeping.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Dec 2013 10:25 pm Title: May 1945, Part III

I hope Jack's painful memories will reduce and the memories of happier times will come to the fore as his healing continues.  Pleased Jem wants him to return to the San but realises that now is not the time.

Thanks Vicky.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Dec 2013 10:23 pm Title: May 1945, Part III

Your Jem always feels so like the Jem I imagine from the books, and am glad he can help Jack here. Hope Jack continues to get some dreamless sleep, tis best medicine if can get it !

Reviewer: Fiona Mc Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01 Dec 2013 10:10 pm Title: May 1945, Part III

That was so l0vely of Jem, thank you



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.