Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Mar 2013 10:29 pm Title: Chapter 24

Poor Gren!  What a nasty experience.  Glad she's on the mend though & back home.

Thanks Shesings :-D



Author's Response: Thanks, Vick, sorry not to respond sooner - no sure where March went!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Mar 2013 6:31 pm Title: Chapter 24

Wow - Gren has been exceedingly lucky; even though her injuries have been really serious, it sounds as if there is hope that she will make a reasonable physical recovery.  How long it will take her to recover mentally from her ordeals is, of course, another story, but the support of her parents, and of friends like Meg, Dunc and Dolly, Hilda, Nell and the others will certainly help her.  

I think Hilda's suggestion of a prayer at that moment was exactly right.  Now if only there was some way to ensure that the RTU instruction for Meg, Dunc and Dolly could mysteriously be delayed for another 3 months, they might not have to return at all. (Please, Shesings?!)

 



Author's Response: Thanks, Elder. Sadly, the needs of the War meant that Meg and co had to go.

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2013 6:09 pm Title: Chapter 23

Good to see Gren  again. I do hope Meg gets her to safety.



Author's Response: Thanks Anne, they are a bit close to the front line at the moment.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2013 10:09 am Title: Chapter 23

Erk!  Poor Gren!  Hope she survives. Love how corporal skinner just absorbed news without anyone else knowing it, reminded me of Radar from MASH. 

Thanks Shesings. :-D



Author's Response: Vick, I'm warming to Skinny myself!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2013 1:34 am Title: Chapter 23

Well - I must say I wasn't expecting that, any more than Meg was, but it's pretty wonderful news.  I do hope that Gren will recover, although her reaction to seeing Meg is some indication that she will!   Meg certainly deserves her promotion, too.  

Thanks, Shesings - I know I don't post very often but I really am enjoying this.

 



Author's Response: Thank you, Elder, Gren's a fighter so we'll hope for the best!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24 Feb 2013 12:37 am Title: Chapter 23

Brilliant! Really hope Gren recovers ok. Yay for Major !

Author's Response: Thank you, Kathryn!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2013 11:11 am Title: Chapter 22

A lovely collection of letters, and gives such a sense of the family and the time. Thank You :-)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Feb 2013 11:19 pm Title: Chapter 22

Thank you for the letters. I am pleased you gave us family news as well as the war news.  Hope Meg is behind the line even if she is in France.



Author's Response: Thanks, Pauline! She won't be far from the line and if there's a counter attack she could find herself moving very fast to stay behind it......

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2013 10:08 pm Title: Chapter 21

Poor Meg ! :-( Thank you for the update, sad as it was.

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathryn!

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2013 10:03 pm Title: Chapter 21

poor Meg!  Just what she didn't want to hear the night before she departs.  Hope she doesn't do anything daft in retaliation...

Thanks Shesings :-D



Author's Response: I hope she doesn't do anything daft either, Vick!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2013 7:30 pm Title: Chapter 21

Parts of this were indeed very sad, but you told the story beautifully. I'm glad that Hilda was able to break through Meg's shocked state comparatively quickly, and that the powers that be at the Camp have been able to excuse the fact that she had gone AWOL. And although the hurt of Meg's bereavement won't go away, the fact that she has been passed fit and will plunge straight back into work will help her. 

Thanks, Shesings.



Author's Response: Thanks, Elder, it was difficult to write.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2013 9:57 pm Title: Chapter 20

I'm not surprised Nell has been cheered by Meg's visit - she really is a breath of fresh air.   I enjoyed hearing about her family and their ambitions.  I was also interested in her frank appraisal of "what might have been" for Hilda and her clear happiness at how well she is recovering, also her reassurance to Nell that suddent tiredness is to be expected.   I'm *just* old enough to remember "Itma", so her use of TTFN always makes me smile.

 

Thanks, Shesings.



Author's Response: Thanks Elder! Glad you are still enjoying it. I'm a War Baby myself so can recall catch phrases still in use even after the War.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2013 9:17 pm Title: Chapter 20

Lovely to see Nell and Meg have a good catch up on news.

Thanks Shesings :-D



Author's Response: Thanks for commenting Vick. I think it would have been good for Nell to have a friend who brought a non-school perspective.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2013 9:13 pm Title: Chapter 20

I love the sound of having a "tartan fleepie"!! I love this story, not least for the language education !!! You realise that if this story ends after the war I will still be hassling for more more more of this world !!

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathryn!

Reviewer: Finn Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jan 2013 8:36 pm Title: Chapter 19

Actual tear in my eye there, shesings, and I'm not usually particularly sentimental. Thank you, lovely chapter.



Author's Response: Happy New Year and thanks, Finn. I enjoyed writing this one.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jan 2013 2:19 am Title: Chapter 19

Lovely little insight into New Year and a Happy New Year to you too...

Thanks Shesings. :-D



Author's Response: Happy New Year, Vick and thank you!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2012 6:20 pm Title: Chapter 19

Thank you. Pleased Pat arrived home and that they heard from cousins about a prisoner of war.  

It brought tears to my eyes.



Author's Response: Thanks Pauline! It must have been so hard for families to have their loved ones away for so long, with little news. Happy new Year!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 31 Dec 2012 4:46 pm Title: Chapter 19

Lovely family scenes, and very real as always! :-) Thank you and Happy New Year ! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathryn! Happy New Year to you.

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Dec 2012 10:52 pm Title: Chapter 18

So considerate of Meg not wanting to raise the question of Gren's disappearance while Hilda was there.  I hope Gren comes back - I like happy endings.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Dec 2012 7:07 pm Title: Chapter 18

I think you were right to include that news here, Shesings - as you say, the war didn't stop for Christmas, with of course the notable exception of that unforgettable Christmas Day in WWI, with its truce in the trenches.  I like the fact that Meg waited until Hilda had left before telling Nell about Gren being MIA.  We can only hope that she has been captured, not killed.  

Thanks, Shesings, I'm continuing to enjoy this.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 19 Dec 2012 9:48 pm Title: Chapter 18

Thank you, and hope all of them are ok. Still really enjoying this, as always !

Reviewer: MaryR Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Dec 2012 9:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

Shesings, since everyone else is posting on your drabble here, would you like me to do the same and stop commenting in LGM? Or do you prefer to have some on there as well? *grins*

Author's Response: I don't ind either way, Mary!

Reviewer: Seven Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2012 6:19 pm Title: Chapter 17

Love Meg's opinion of Miss Bubb - great language!  And I'm pleased that she is taking such good care of Nell who is obviously having a hard time between her leg and Miss Bubb.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2012 2:07 pm Title: Chapter 17

Thank you, love Meg's solution to Nell having nightmares!  Good to see the end of Miss Bubb.

Reviewer: cal562301 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2012 1:39 pm Title: Chapter 17

Really enjoying this take on events. Thanks. Sorry I don't comment very often, but that doesn't mean I'm not reading and appreciating. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for commenting now!



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.