Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2012 5:11 pm Title: Chapter 6

What a lovely episode - and so reflects the custom of the time, where people played as hard as they worked in real life - the true wartime spirit.  It really is nice to see this relaxed side of Grizel - I loved her segue from classical to popular music there.  Clearly she was playing for enjoyment for herself and others, rather than as the music teacher in spite of herself - and it showed.  The others all revealed unexpected talents there - and we also learned more about the Kelly family, which was interesting.

Thank you, Shesings.

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2012 2:07 pm Title: Chapter 6

Thank you, great to see them enjoying themselves and see another side to the staff. Really enjoying this, feels very real.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2012 11:59 am Title: Chapter 6

That's a lovely scene at the dance.  Love that Grizel & co are enjoying themselves and have stayed on. 

Thanks Shesings :-)

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2012 9:39 am Title: Chapter 5

lol.  I love the fact that they're more upset about the lack of silk and armed guard than that the parachutists weren't Nazis.

Thanks Shesings. :-)

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2012 1:06 am Title: Chapter 5

There are some lovely touches of humour here, Shesings, which complement the more serious history behind your story - especially the last exchange between Meg and Nell!  I like your take on Colonel Black, too, though I must admit it's weird to think of the obnoxious individual who appeared in Chalet School Goes To It as a much decorated officer from World War I!   

Thank you.

 

 



Author's Response: Thnaks, Elder! I think Colonel Black was one of EBD's most cleverly drawn minor characters. "Goes To It" is set in the late spring and summer of 1940 at the time when the entire country was expecting Blitzkrieg and invasion at any moment, and fear of Fifth Columnists was at its height. Even an accidental showing of lights would have been a concern to the local military command; a possible collaborator or agent deliberately showing lights was literally a matter of life and death. The Colonel's worry and anger is actually understandable, his fear being for his community, including the School. By the time of the "Highland Twins" spy business circumstances were different. Colonel Black is obviously someone to be relied on and his anger is directed at the spy "He hated this business of letting this man stare at these bonny, decent girls in his insolent way. But it had to be done.)

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 May 2012 12:01 am Title: Chapter 5

Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2012 11:58 pm Title: Chapter 5

Lol! Loving this story, and the peopke are so real. Thank you!

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2012 12:15 pm Title: Chapter 4

Thanks for the update.  I knew something about nursing in the II world War, but little about its effects on medical students at the start of the war.



Author's Response: Thanks Pauline. I knew a bit about the emergency call because a friend of my older cousin spent the long vac before his final year in hospitals in Sussex and Hampshire. Bill told some hair-raising stories. He had to do things which legally he was not qualified to do, sometimes with bombs raining down on him, but he said you just did what had to be done and hoped for the best - and hoped you wouldn't disgrace yourself by peeing your breeks!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2012 8:58 am Title: Chapter 4

This is so interesting, and really enjoying seeing the friendship develop. Really enjoying this, thanks.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2012 3:53 am Title: Chapter 4

I do like the way this story is developing, Shesings, you draw your characters so clearly.  I like your two 'new' characters, Meg and Gren and can see why the Chalet School staff are enjoying getting to know them.  I must admit I giggled at Meg's encounter with her former lecturer at that hospital - I can quite imagine his 'rather colourful language'.

IN case you are wondering, I'm not an night owl, just living in a time zone which is 5 hours behind the UK!!   But I'd not been on the SDL site for a few hours, so this was an unexpected late evening treat.  Thank you.



Author's Response: Thanks, Elder, in beautiful Ontario! Are you in the Toronto area?

Reviewer: Dizzy Miss Lizzie Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 May 2012 9:40 am Title: Chapter 3

Great story. Looking forward to the CS mistresses being drunk and incapable!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 May 2012 5:14 pm Title: Chapter 3

Really enjoying this. Do we get to see some CS mistresses misbehaving at the party, as Hilda hopes??

 

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2012 10:19 am Title: Chapter 3

Lovely getting to know them both more, and well done to Meg for spotting it. Glad Matey's San is approved of !!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2012 6:50 pm Title: Chapter 2

A very interesting beginning, Shesings.  I really like Meg Kelly and Gren.  And trust Biddy O'Ryan to be the one to ask the question about whether Meg is armed or not.  

Thanks, will look forward to seeing how this plays out.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2012 2:12 pm Title: Chapter 2

Thank you - I do find it much easier to read here, though I skimmed on LGM last night. Really like this story already.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Apr 2012 1:46 pm Title: Chapter 2

Thanks this is an interesting view of the war.



Author's Response: Thanks, Pauline, I am trying to keep the Wartime/EBD details correct so please let me know if you spot any glaring errors!



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.