Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2012 1:26 am Title: Chapter 17

Good to see this from another view. Thank you! Love the word fankle !

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Nov 2012 1:01 am Title: Chapter 17

I know this exploit of Gay's could well have ended badly and I've always been relieved that - German Measles apart - all turned out well, but I must admit I giggled wildly over some of Meg's expressions there, especially those relating to Miss Bubb!!  "Pig-ignorant besom" really does describe her to a T!!  I also like the way Meg made sure that Nell had an unexpected treat to help her relax that evening - I wouldn't be surprised if that hot chocolate was laced with something stronger, even though it's not mentioned!!  And I also love Grizel's description of a great weight being lifted off the school with Miss Bubb's departure - it's very apt!

Thanks, Shesings, always good to see this whenever time and RL allows.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Nov 2012 8:41 pm Title: Chapter 16

Good for Meg looking out for everyone. Hope Miss Bubb gets her final comeuppance soon. 

Thanks Shesings. :-)



Author's Response: Thank you, Vick!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05 Nov 2012 2:45 am Title: Chapter 16

Thank you ! And like her making Nell think about the health service, as interesting and real as ever. More please soon as possible!!

Author's Response: Thanks, Beecharmer, I'm working on the next episode!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Nov 2012 1:20 am Title: Chapter 16

The more I see of Meg, the more I like her - the way she gave Miss Bubb her comeuppance lost nothing in her retelling of the incident to Nell, either!!  Her visit was exactly the tonic Nell needed at that minute, I think, but I'm glad to see that she made no bones about telling Nell just how important it was for her to stay off her feet as much as possible for the moment, either.  I'm glad to see she will lay down rules for Rosalie's working hours, too.  Also, as someone whose father practiced medicine both pre-NHS and afterwards, I thought the picture Meg painted of how poorer patients, who could not afford to pay for medical care, fared before the NHS was very telling.  

Thank you, Shesings;  please don't worry about long intervals between posts - it's always good to see this story back whenever you have time.



Author's Response: Thanks, Elder! I think Meg's based on a couple of my father's sisters who were bright, kind and tough as they come.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Oct 2012 1:59 pm Title: Chapter 15

Jem is certainly having his views of woman doctors challenged.  Pleased Meg had the experience of seeing Archie McIndoe working.

Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Oct 2012 12:40 am Title: Chapter 15

Wow, a lot in this update! I'm glad you posted before you went. That bit about the Inuits could well explain some issues a patient of mine has had, how interesting! I'd been trawling eye related issues, but that would make sense too! Cheers ! Horrible being reminded of how the bus accident and Josette being so close together, glad Meg could help. Very typical Nell to joke it off a bit! Thank you, a great view on the canon story from a different direction, as ever. Have a good time :-)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2012 10:56 pm Title: Chapter 14

Hope Gren is ok, nice seeing the young mistresses letting hair down. Chill down spine at the mention of Nell holiday and bus. Thank you.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2012 9:58 pm Title: Chapter 14

Hope Gren makes it safely through, and glad that Nell was there to comfort Meg in her own way.  Love the conversation between the girls before their night out.

Thanks Shesings :-D

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2012 6:35 pm Title: Chapter 14

pleased Meg could share her worries for Gren with Nell.  Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2012 11:54 am Title: Chapter 13

Thanks for the update.  Pleased Jem treats Meg as an adult even if he is still Edwardian in addressing her.  It gives hope for the future.  

Wonder if Meg will ever learn about Jo's adventure with the green dye!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2012 10:06 am Title: Chapter 13

Lovely letters. Really feel part of the story. Thank you.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Aug 2012 9:04 am Title: Chapter 12

Yay for Jem getting rid of the incompetent doctor!  Am also intrigued how Mwg will get on with him too. 

Thanks Shesings. :-D

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Aug 2012 12:16 am Title: Chapter 12

Thank you, glad they have retired the incompetant Major before he did more harm.  

I suspect Jem will have to improve his attitude after working with Meg.



Author's Response: I hope she'll manage to get him to stop calling her 'my dear'!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12 Aug 2012 12:48 am Title: Chapter 11

Lol. Thanks, nice to see Meg with a good team ariund her.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Aug 2012 12:36 am Title: Chapter 11

Love Meg's comment about Jem there!  Hope it isn't as bad as she fears, but have  the feeling it might be.

Thanks Shesings :-D

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06 Aug 2012 9:12 pm Title: Chapter 10 U/D 31/7

Lol, I like the method for getting the bad doctor sorted! Enjoyed all of this, as ever, thank you.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Aug 2012 5:54 pm Title: Chapter 10 U/D 31/7

I'm continuing to enjoy this, Shesings, even though I may not manage to comment very often.  I love the way the soldiers know how to 'fool' Major Dakers after they flood his sick parade sessions - and also that they know not to go and see him if they really are sick, but to see Meg or Dr. Jermyn instead.I also enjoy the developing relationship between Gren, Meg, Hilda and Nell - think there are benefits all round.



Author's Response: I've heard stories from my Dad and SLOC about how nod and wink conspiracies could exist between officers, senior rates and ratings to limit the damage an incompetent or lazy senior could do!

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2012 8:12 am Title: Chapter 10 U/D 31/7

love the plot to get the sick parade back to normal.  AM really enjoying this story, though I forget to comment quite often.

Thanks Shesings :-D



Author's Response: Thanks, Vick, glad you are enjoying the story! I'm benefiting from the tales I heard from the family when I was growing up in the post-War years.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jul 2012 9:06 pm Title: Chapter 9

Thanks for the update.  Loved Meg's reaction to Jo's statement she is having twins!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18 Jul 2012 12:28 pm Title: Chapter 9

Thank you, and a nice little conversation. This made me giggle :- "Jo, they are eleven year old girls, not some exotic new species from Borneo!" :-D

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Jun 2012 11:59 pm Title: Chapter 8

It was really nice to see the way Meg got on with the girls there - I do hope that she'll have more opportunities to talk to them in the future.  And life on the base sounds totally believable.  I think Meg will have her work cut out for the forseeable future, if the new senior M.O. is as incompetent as suggested!! 

Thank you, Shesings.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Jun 2012 8:24 pm Title: Chapter 8

Thanks for the update.  Pleased your uncle was liberated twice, and not transfered to Europe.

Well done Grandmother on her factory work as well.



Author's Response: Uncle Alex fought the entire North African campaign, through Sicily and right the way up Italy. When he finally got demobbed and came home his little daughter wouldn't let him near her for about a week because he didn't look like the Daddy whose photograph she'd kissed every night!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Jun 2012 8:24 pm Title: Chapter 8

Thank you, have missed this! Meg is lovely here and glad Daisy is so interested. :-)

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 Jun 2012 9:20 pm Title: Chapter 7

OOOOHHHH !! I missed this ! I'm so glad that I came to have a look in case. Thank you, I like Rosalie and I'm glad she has had a part in the war too, she would want to be useful. Thank you. Looking forward to more when available !



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.