Reviews For Wants and Wishes
Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2017 7:24 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

I like Georgie, looking forward to seeing what she comes up with. Glad proper Matron is back, and that Anna is getting a bit more grown up and paying attention to things better. Glad Marya has had a good chat with her mum too.

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2017 6:47 pm Title: Chapter 28 The Plan

Georgie certainly has involved the whole class.  I wonder what Miss parker will make of Marya's sling. I loved Marys response to the class about why she had to wear one. Pleased that Matron Lee and Georgie are helping Marys talk more to other people.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2017 5:47 pm Title: Chapter 28 The Plan

An 'interesting' display of civil disobedience from the class, but I suspect it won't be allowed to continue for too long.  If Matron Lee didn't overhear all of Georgie's explanation to Marya, another teacher will work out what's going on and put a stop to it, even though Nicola clearly has no intention of treating Marya any better. For Nicola's own sake, I hope no-one realises that she actually rammed the pen back into the child's hand - the action verges on assault in my book.  Nice that Matron Lee gave Marya a few hints to help her talk more, that  can only help.   

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Aug 2017 4:47 pm Title: Chapter 28 The Plan

Nicola still thinks Marya is just being difficult - think perhaps she needed a bit more of a rocket rather than the "softly softly" approach - but now all the class is on her side and she is speaking a bit more, perhaps Marya will be able to cope a bit better. 

 

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2017 9:43 pm Title: Chapter 27 Sunday

Pleased Joy's father has spoken to her as well as Claire.  Hopefully it might make a difference to some aspects of her life, though I doubt it will make her like Marya more.

Diana is right in thinking Nicola's Home background is to blame for her attitudes and that it will take a lot of work to change her.  A pity that they cannot stop her phoning her father, I hope her mother can get through to her in time.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2017 6:09 pm Title: Chapter 27 Sunday

Sounds like the beginnings of a truce between Anna and Joy - and hopefully Joy's father's words will help her. Being a twin probably means it's not so easy to make other friends. As for Nicola - if she doesn't appoint a captain for herself it will probably get done for her. Do hope she soon begins to realise not everything her father has taught her is right!

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2017 3:26 pm Title: Chapter 27 Sunday

I see two examples of irresistible forces meeting immoveable objects in this chapter - of the two, I think Nicola will find it much harder to change her ways than Anna and Joy will.  But I suspect Diana Griffin will be keeping an even closer eye on Nicola and her form than she was doing until now - despite Nicola's father's attitudes, perhaps in the end she will heed Diana's advice, though it won't happen immediately.  As for Joy and Anna - Clare's rationalisation for some of Joy's behaviour does make a lot of sense, while I love Anna for sticking to her guns and refusing to accept Joy's apology unless the latter also apologises to Marya, and not even holding out the hand of friendship afterwards - yet!  I really hope Joy's father's words will have a lasting effect and we'll see her behaviour improve.  It will be very interesting to see what Monday brings!

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2017 5:21 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

Just come back from a few days away and have been catching up on this, Good to see that the Anning Lodge situation is approaching solution - apart from Frankie. Also seem to be glimmers of hope for Nicola, though it could still be tricky when Marya is back. 

Wonder how soon anyone will hear more from Phil? Although a lot has happened it's only a couple of weeks into term, too soon to hope for her to escape, having just had the twins, but if they get taken over by their grandmother too, maybe it won't be too long?

 

Tnanks Myth Tree, am enjoying this story very much

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2017 5:20 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

Hhhmmm! Hope Georgie isn't going to do something that upsets a very shaky apple cart...... Glad that Matron Gomme is back to get things in order though!

Reviewer: Charlotta4th Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 24 Aug 2017 10:14 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

Thanks for this story, I've got so interested I check back every day for updates. As good as EBD herself 😊

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Aug 2017 5:27 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

So some things already changing for the better here, though I'm glad Anna warned Georgie not to try exacting 'revenge' for Nicola's treatment of Marya, as it would only harden the teacher's attitude towards her twin. Given Georgie's activity during prep, I don't think she's too perturbed about getting herself into trouble, though! Really nice of  Miranda and Georgie to copy out the notes from yesterday's classes for Anna and Marya, too.  Also glad Miss Currie herself has told Joy 'no team tryouts without better school work' and that Nicola refused to interfere with that fiat.  As for Nicola herself, at least she's taken some of Dollie's advice, though I fear that in the end, she may need to be relieved of her position as form mistress - I can't see her changing her attitudes there very easily.

I really hope Miranda's reform can survive being in a room witht the other 'three Ms;'  that would be a considerable achievement for the girl.  I'm glad Marya was able to tell her mother everything and be reassured on so much - that will really help her, as will the fact that when she does return to school, she'll find her bed is 'properly' made again and she's back to sharing with her twin and their cousins.  

Finally, I'm glad that Marya told Anna of Frankie's exploits, even though she wouldn't tell her mother, that Anna has reported the fact to Matron Gomme and that the latter will take appropriate action without involving the twins.

Thanks, Myth Tree - I'll try to wait paitently for the  next chapter!!

 

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Aug 2017 4:41 pm Title: Chapter 26 Changes

Pleased that the rooms have been rearranged, but am sorry that Miranda is with the other "M's" who she is trying to break away from.  I hope Anna and Amy can help her until Marya returns.

Good that Anna has told Matron about Frankie, if she is caught whilst Marya is not there then she can blame her for being found out.

Cecily advise to Marya should help, but if Georgie is going to cause problems it might limit the benefit.

Reviewer: TumbleweedQueen Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23 Aug 2017 5:10 pm Title: Chapter 1 Nicola

I check obsessively for updates of this. It might not always be fun in the usual sense, but it is compelling and you've written characters I care about.

A transformation of Nicola could be very interesting, especially if it sets off a chain reaction with her parents. I'd also like to see Joy getting her comeuppance. And Dollie getting a rest!

Reviewer: AnneM Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Aug 2017 12:34 pm Title: Chapter 25 Interview

I'm trying to remember how old Dollie Edwards is, and failing! I liked the way she drew Nicola into conversation and discovered a bit more about her and gave her some tactful advice, and it's a pity she didn't manage to do that earlier. In these particular circumstances, though, I 'm not convinced her softly softly approach was right - after all, a child went missing and ended up in hospital! Still, maybe the quiet words will actually penetrate Nicola's shell and make her begin to think for herself, instead of just parroting her father's opinions. She's already breaking loose a little, enjoying her privacy and borrowing books, and that's after only a couple of weeks - long may it continue! Thanks, Myth Tree - you always leave us with something to ponder.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2017 2:47 pm Title: Chapter 25 Interview

Good to know that Marya's injuries have been treated and she can go home as soon as her ankle has been x-rayed - wonder if that may reveal a sign of the growth-related' after-effect of the meningitis which Flinty mentioned might occur.  

I'm not at all sure that Dollie Edwards' 'softly, softly' approach to Nicola is the right one, especially where Marya is concerned, (even now I doubt if Nicola has any concept that 'selective mutism' is a genuine condition) but only time will tell and at least Diana Griffin and Megan will be keeping an eye on things.  Having Matron Gomme back in Anning will alleviate at least some of Marya's problemsm which will help. I laughed at Dollie's use of 'sucking up' to describe some of Joy's behaviour!  It would be nice, too, if Dollie's successor could be appointed before the end of the school year, for both Dollie's and the school's sake.

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2017 2:04 pm Title: Chapter 25 Interview

I hope that was the right approach but I think Miss Parker will need another shock to the system before she actually learns. I am not sanguine!

Reviewer: Beecharmer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2017 1:28 pm Title: Chapter 25 Interview

Don't like the sound of needing the xray. Miss Parker is lucky not to be sacked, I hope she doesn't take it all out on Marya. I suspect all will not be calm quite yet...

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2017 12:47 pm Title: Chapter 25 Interview

Nicola certainly got a better reception than she deserved.  I hope that Dollie's approach worked.  I hope Nicola takes some of it on board.

loved Anna's description of Mitch as a doctor doctor as opposed to uncle doctor.

Reviewer: Joanne Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2017 3:23 am Title: Chapter 24 Revolt

Oh thank goodness! Although I do hope Miss Parker gets a chance to become human somehow...

Thanks.

Reviewer: Vick Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2017 12:25 am Title: Chapter 24 Revolt

Glad that Miss Edwards has finally found out the whole saga of the term so far, though not at how she's had to discover it.

Thanks Myth Tree.  I am reading, even if I don't comment often. :-D

Reviewer: shesings Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2017 12:22 am Title: Chapter 1 Nicola

I hope Dollie Edwards does tell some home truths to Miss Parker but I hope she also has a good hard look at her own responsibility and that of other staff for the situation. I know there are staffing problems/shortages etc but it's twhen that happens that the strength of a system is seen.

Reviewer: Elder in Ontario Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2017 3:58 pm Title: Chapter 24 Revolt

So, the tangled web is really starting to unravel - methinks Miss Nicola Parker is going to find herself with some difficult explaining to do.   At one level, I'm relieved that it was Mrs. Griffin who came upon the 'revolt' - she, at least, could be seen as a 'neutral' party, as she is no relation to the twins.  At least The Silver Sword should hold the other children's attention, though to be truthful, I doubt they'll get much out of it just now, unless Mrs. Entwistle is very firm with them and insists on their settling to work.  It will be interesting to see whether she achieves that before the children have poured out to her just what's happened, which would rather neutralise Dollie Edwards' plan to keep her and Bits out of the after-lunch discussions, but...  Glad Dollie is able to take Anna to see Marya without delay, and that the conversation with Anna reveals so much about what's been happening all term.   Thanks, Myth Tree.

Reviewer: thefrau46 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2017 2:59 pm Title: Chapter 1 Nicola

Sighs of relief! At last the boarding house and the cause of Marya's problems will be sorted.  I fear Nicola Parker will take longer.  Will she be sacked or will the CS try to reform her, I wonder.

 

Reviewer: PaulineS Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2017 2:13 pm Title: Chapter 24 Revolt

Well done Dollie.  Nicola really went to far this time.  Miss filling in the register, holding Anna in her place and shouting at the form.  In many ways she deserves all she gets including the sack, but it will only reinforce her attitudes to life and to children.  Time under supervision at the CS would be more beneficial to her, but I think she may have gone too far.

Reviewer: ivohenry Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2017 1:46 pm Title: Chapter 24 Revolt

At last someone knows what's been happening! Look forward to hearing sharp words said to Nicola - but will she actually understand what she's told - guess she'll still blame Marya for everythung, including probably losing her job!



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.